Hearty Tomato Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Atlasnamy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
We used elbow pasta instead of rice and added chicken broth and diced chicken. Good slow-cooker recipe! We really enjoyed it! It was really good. We are definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlasnamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this today and it's a great base for soup. I added the entire 6 oz can of tomato paste. I also added one cup of shredded roast beef I had leftover, one cup of frozen mixed veges and I used orzo instead of rice. It turned out great! You can adjust any ingredients to what you like or have on hand! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Good soup. To be honest I didn't have super high hopes for this soup. I only made it b/c it looked really easy and I had most of a can on tomato paste leftover from another recipe I wanted to use up. I added more pepper than written but I love a lot of pepper and I added a few shakes of franks red hot. I would for sure make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong, but this was VERY salty! I may have used the wrong kind of bouillon. I used brown rice and ate it the day after making it; it was thick enough, so I would call it "hearty." It didn't look hearty when I was making it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was a very good and easy soup. I made it for a soup exchange - done like a cookie exchange. I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a great soup recipe, and it's low in fat and calories. Perfect on a cold fall night! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Good brothy base...I added a few leftovers (chopped up steak, added cooked rice). Would be nice the way it is or adding any vegetables desired (we added onions and corn). Easy. Had everything on hand for a last minute dinner decision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
It was good but not sure why hearty is part of the name, very brothy soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States