Hearty Roasted Chicken and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I had a variety of left overs, one was three hot Italian sausages, the other cooked shredded chicken breasts. It occurred to me the sweet red peppers would be mush if in the oven for an hour. So I put the sausage potatoes and onions in – I also misread ‘Italian seasoning ‘and thought ‘Italian dressing’, so painted the potatoes with a small amount of dressing after pouring chicken broth. It was tasty! I have on hand bouillon cubes – so that is what I generally use. After things cooked a half hour I put the peppers in – all smelled pretty good. In last 5-10 minutes I moved everything over in the casserole pan (there was a lot of liquid) then put in shredded chicken breasts. The liquid made chicken taste AMAZING as it sopped up a lot of liquid. Italian hot sausage I think made all the difference. I could have waited 40-45 minutes before adding the peppers, next time I’ll wait also to add onions. Some of the potatoes were totally cooked – some potatoes were a little crunchy. Adding 15-20 more baking minutes will add to the potatoes getting totally cooked. I might think about adding carrots too, to put in maybe the first 20 minutes cooking. My husband ate more of this than 90% of what I fix him. It also looked pretty good – accept for shredded chicken – next time I’ll take pictures – it was surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We loved it! We added two cloves of crushed garlic and used smoked sausage. It came out great. Really wish we had thought of grabbing some crusty bread before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I use less liquid and more spice, and it's a nice dinner dish. If you don't have potatoes, put it over rice. You can also add chopped tomatoes instead of broth, then finish with marinated artichokes! awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I was really disappointed. Very odd taste and chicken was questionable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
boring..not flavorful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I couldn't wait to tell you how much this was enjoyed!!! So, so good! I did take the advice of another reviewer and added hot sauce to the chicken (we like spicy food) and some chopped garlic, but oh my goodness....I was in food heaven. I also added extra broth and we sopped it up with crusty bread! My husband got home later ant polished off the rest!! Too good on a cold, damp winter night....Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Although the recipe seems pretty bland, this was actually really good! My husband is very picky, and he liked it and would eat it again. I halved the recipe and made it for me and my husband. I used hot sausage, added whole mushrooms, sliced garlic and green onion, used extra Italian seasoning, topped with fresh ground pepper, and put some Cholula on the chicken. I think I might try it with chicken breasts next time, though, since bone in chicken is annoying to eat. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe was awesome. didnt understand though that i needed to keep it uncovered in the oven but overall it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States