Hearty Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I used cranberries because I never have raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe, however, I used the dough setting on my bread machine, then kneaded & divided it into two loaf pans. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Dysart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this using my sourdough starter instead of yeast and it came out great, so great, in fact, that I left out the raisins and just used this recipe to make a regular loaf of bread and a rolled sugar loaf. My only problem, though, was getting the raisins kneaded in evenly in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe to the "T" and it came out great! Very moist, yet firm on top. Everyone that tired it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialmegan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Putnam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I have tried several bread receipes from this site, this one is the best. Even my sweetie pie said so. It's the right texture, not to sweet and soooo fluffy. I did not have AP flour on hand, so I used what I had, which was white bread flour. I made two delicious loaves. One with cinn/raisin and the other plan for sandwichs. Please try this one, you will not regret it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This bread was mediocre at best. Boring wheat bread with a few raisins thrown in. My husband won't eat it, so I'm using it for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This bread is sooo good! I made it exactly as the recipe is and it was great! My husband loved it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Good and easy, though I changed it a bit based on what I had on hand. I wanted to make a cinnamon cranberry bread to get rid of some dried cranberries. I used those instead of the raisins. I only had bread flour so used that for all the flour. I baked it for 30 minutes on my pizza stone that was preheated in the oven. Mixed up some butter with brown sugar and cinnamon to put on that. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This is Soooo Good! It's not too sweet like the kind you get from the store. I mixed the dough in my bread machine, and baked it in the oven. It turned out great! Watch it, as the recipe suggests, I needed to drape foil over it for the last 15 minutes. I got two beautiful loaves, and the wonderful smell of fresh raisin bread fills the house! Mmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I'm giving the recipe 5 stars, but the loaf I made only gets 4 1/2, because the crust was a little crunchy, but was my fault. I didn't have honey, so I used brown sugar, and I also added a little extra cinnamon, which was good. I only made half the recipe, and I made it in my bread machine (I needed about a tablespoon or two extra of white flour). Next time I will use the bread machine on the dough setting and bake it in the oven so that I can watch the crust more closely. This is a great recipe and the flavor is wonderful. This is how raisin bread is supposed to taste! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Nice color on the outside, nice texture on the inside but no where sweet enough at the store boughten raisin bread. Needs more honey/sugar and cinnamon. I will be looking for a better recipe. I made 1/2 this recipe to make one loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States