Hearty Potato, Bacon and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Not as good as I expected from the reveiws, although not bad either. Could use more thickening. I found myself adding salt as I ate it. There is a big problem with the cooking instructions -- it says to add the dairy to the soup directly, but if you do so, it will immediately curdle and clump. That can be avoided by simply taking a bit of the hot soup liquid and mixing it with the dairy in a small bowl, and then adding it back to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I make this exact recipe all the time and its really wonderful. The trick to thickening it is to mash some of the potatoes. Using a hand blender or food processor blends the bacon and onion as well, which really helps with the flavour, especially getting that right amount of salt. I usually remove several cups of the potatoes once cooked, blend, and return to the pot. That way there are still some chunks of potatoes left. Also, avoid rinsing your potatoes after cubing them, as the starch will help the soup to thicken as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I substituted chicken broth for the water, omitted the bouillon cube, and added a pinch of cayenne pepper and this was delicious. A great quick meal on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
GOod, nice flavor. I used 3 onions and 5 potatoes. The recipe calls for perhaps a bit too many onions. Next time I make it I will use 2 or less onions. And use a big pot! Taste overall is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I LOVED this soup! Husband - who isn't a big potato fan - thought that it was pretty good. The only changes I made were to use canned chickie broth instead of water, and I didn't bother with the egg yolks. I very nearly used heavy cream instead of sour cream, and I am so glad I didn't. It was so delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks, Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was an instant hit with the entire family. We all loved it. Even better with a handful of grated cheese sprinkled over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Potatoes def need more than 10 minutes to cook. Otherwise good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I discovered this recipe about 2 years ago when my husband had oral surgery and could not eat solid foods. I was looking for something really hearty and satisfying and this really delivered. I used an immersion blender to make it smooth enough for him to eat-perfect! I have since shared this recipe with several people who were on liquid diets and it is always well received. I don't always add the eggs, it's good both ways. Tonight I'm going to try substituting leeks for some of the onions. I almost always use more bacon than is called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Rich and creamy but I added a cup of shredded cheese to the recipe! Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The soup is over all very good! It needs to be thickened a little and some spice's added to it but over all it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skooter20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States