Hearty Potato, Bacon and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very tasty. I didn't add the eggs. I used some celery and cabbage, which I saluted with the onions. I used vegetable broth instead on the water and bouillon. I also added ham diced up after I added the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Not a bad recipe at all. I changed the vegetable bouillon to chicken and added some cut up, boneless, chicken breast. I also increased the potato count and decreased the onion. Came out real good on this cold day. The only other thing I will change next time is to decrease the butter. You already have the fat from the bacon. You really don't need that much butter. Just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carroll
Home Town: Kemp, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Not a bad recipe to start with.. I swapped out bacon for homemade polska keilbasa, used nonfat yogurt instead of cream and eggs, and seasoned with red chili, garlic, salt and pepper. I left my potatoes in cubes and thickened with a little flour and butter/sausage fat. I used chicken stock as my base and added some shredded cheddar, mustard and apple cider vinegar to cut the richness. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyl Heidenreich Sutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious! My wife and kids were very pleased. I also added some asparagus, and instead of parsley I chopped up some spinach to add some vitamin A. I also added salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
It probably tasted a LOT better with bacon, but seeing that I did NOT have bacon in the house, I used cheese and various other spices. The recipe itself tasted a little bland, but once I added SALSA to the mix, it was great! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it! We use the food bank for the time being, and we get a LOT of potatoes and onions, so this recipe is a delicious, quick, and easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harbaughjb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Potatoes def need more than 10 minutes to cook. Otherwise good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The soup is over all very good! It needs to be thickened a little and some spice's added to it but over all it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skooter20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I make this exact recipe all the time and its really wonderful. The trick to thickening it is to mash some of the potatoes. Using a hand blender or food processor blends the bacon and onion as well, which really helps with the flavour, especially getting that right amount of salt. I usually remove several cups of the potatoes once cooked, blend, and return to the pot. That way there are still some chunks of potatoes left. Also, avoid rinsing your potatoes after cubing them, as the starch will help the soup to thicken as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
We loved this! I added lean deer sausage and it was perfect. I can't wait to get more sausage and make it again next year. I did'nt use the egg yolks or parsley and instead put cheddar cheese on top along with the bacon bits. This is a perfect base to add what you like and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I discovered this recipe about 2 years ago when my husband had oral surgery and could not eat solid foods. I was looking for something really hearty and satisfying and this really delivered. I used an immersion blender to make it smooth enough for him to eat-perfect! I have since shared this recipe with several people who were on liquid diets and it is always well received. I don't always add the eggs, it's good both ways. Tonight I'm going to try substituting leeks for some of the onions. I almost always use more bacon than is called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States