Hearty Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Very healthy pancakes, I added sunflower oil and ground cardamon. A bit exotic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Made as per recipe. They weren't fluffy and light at all. In fact they were heavy. Love the oatmeal in the recipe but taste were pretty bland. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I just made this recipe, with some modifications, and I LOVED it! I used Vanilla Almond Milk instead of buttermilk/milk. I used white wheat flour instead of the two separate types. I added almond extract, and used brown sugar instead of white sugar (3x amount listed). They tasted like almond cookie pancakes! No syrup necessary :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Awesome! Very filling. Freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is our new pancake recipe...we like that they are more like dessert when we put blueberries and syrup on them. The only changes were to adjust for the half recipe...I put a full tsp of baking soda and baking powder in and a full 2 eggs. Also I like cinnamon so I put a little extra and a full tsp of vanilla. The batter was a little thick so I added extra milk about 1/4 cup more I think...I am more of and eye type cook! :) P.S. If you forget to soak the oats just let the batter sit for a little while before you start cooking. And if you grind up the oats first they don't need to soak as long! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These were so fluffy and delicious! Loved having the oatmeal and whole wheat flour in there to make a pancake a little healthier. Will make again. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Flavorful and healthy. For a finer texture, I ran the oats and buttermilk in the blender before the soak time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a really great recipe and stands up to its name! Now I had a hard time deciding between 4 and 5 stars, but picked 4 for these reasons: I made it as written and it was good. But I liked it better after I added some applesauce, more milk, apple pie spice, and even mini chocolate chips to some and raisins to some. I think I might like the texture (more like traditional buttermilk) if grinding the oats first. But I encourage you to try it and make it your own. Top it with syrup, nutella, etc. You wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These were really very good. Great consistency and moistness. Great taste and since I could only use the white flour for the recipe as opposed to the part whole wheat (opened the bag and it had bugs!), I can't wait to make them again with the whole wheat addition as I know it will make them taste even more awesome! This will be my pancake recipe (with the whole wheat!) from now on though I will keep trying other buttermilk recipes until I find buttermilk pancake nirvana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This pancake is tasty by itself AND flexible to match your tastebuds, which makes it the perfect oatmeal recipe for me! I've made this twice now and sub'd it according to my tastes (and lower caloric preferences): 1) 1% milk + vinegar for buttermilk 2) white whole wheat flour for all flour 3) Splenda sugar blend for sugar 4) 1 tbsp of vanilla for cinnamon 5) egg substitute for eggs 6) Threw in 3 tbsp chia seeds at the very last minute for texture. Using 1/4 cup, I came out with 23 pancakes the first time, and after adding in 1/4 cup milk my second round came out with 22 flatter (but still yummy) pancakes. EXTRA NOTE: Be sure to spray the pan really good - and I mean REALLY good, as these will stick otherwise. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, jpandmary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States