Hearty Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Just as the name suggests, this is a very hearty pancake, plus it has wonderful flavor and is healthy to boot - A perfect breakfast. Definitely soak the oats to soften them, however if you don’t have time to soak the oats, you can grind the oats in the blender before adding in the additional ingredients. I made the recipe exactly as written with the exception of halving the recipe and wouldn’t make any additional changes. Two pancakes per person worked for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by VJGUNKEL59
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I really got excited about a pancake recipe without added oil, so I wanted my kids to try this one. For starters, I had to make a substitution, the buttermilk-I did the old standby of adding a teaspoon of lemon juice for each cup of milk. Because I keep a container of blended oatmeal, I wasn't too worried about soaking the oats. These were the only changes I made to the original recipe before tasting them. It is a HUGE recipe and pretty easy to fix with ingredients normally on hand, (sans buttermilk) so that's a plus. They mixed up nicely and I supposed the cinnamon would be a flavor boost. I used Pam to spray my griddle with good success-no sticking. The pancakes when finished were cracked and dry on the outside. I attributed this to the lack of oil with the recipe. The texture inside was ok, but the taste was on the bland side. We couldn't even taste the cinnamon, so that measurement could easily be doubled. After my first 2 batches of pancakes were made, I added 3 TBSP. of vegetable oil for a more tender pancake. That was so much better! Then I added frozen blueberries to the pancakes and that made these AWESOME, and still kept with the hearty and healthy bent to them! The blueberries brought flavor to them and my kids and I liked these so much more after these 2 additions. So, a 5 star with the changes of blueberries or chopped apples, the oil and you have a great, hearty and healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These are delicious and filling. I"ll definitely make these again but since I was not a fan of the cinnamon, I'll leave that out next time and add some vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I "ground" my oats down in my mini-food processor before soaking them in "soured" milk, which is used in place of the buttermilk. I added one teaspoon of vanilla extract. This pancake recipe was SO GOOD. Hearty? YES! Very filling. The kids had theirs with peanut butter and jam, I had mine with organic applesauce on top. This may be our new favorite pancake recipe! NOTE: Because I cut this recipe in half, I had to figure out what to do about the half egg the recipe called for. I just used two full eggs and cut back on the extra milk called for. Wa-la, problem solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This pancake is tasty by itself AND flexible to match your tastebuds, which makes it the perfect oatmeal recipe for me! I've made this twice now and sub'd it according to my tastes (and lower caloric preferences): 1) 1% milk + vinegar for buttermilk 2) white whole wheat flour for all flour 3) Splenda sugar blend for sugar 4) 1 tbsp of vanilla for cinnamon 5) egg substitute for eggs 6) Threw in 3 tbsp chia seeds at the very last minute for texture. Using 1/4 cup, I came out with 23 pancakes the first time, and after adding in 1/4 cup milk my second round came out with 22 flatter (but still yummy) pancakes. EXTRA NOTE: Be sure to spray the pan really good - and I mean REALLY good, as these will stick otherwise. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, jpandmary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These were really very good. Great consistency and moistness. Great taste and since I could only use the white flour for the recipe as opposed to the part whole wheat (opened the bag and it had bugs!), I can't wait to make them again with the whole wheat addition as I know it will make them taste even more awesome! This will be my pancake recipe (with the whole wheat!) from now on though I will keep trying other buttermilk recipes until I find buttermilk pancake nirvana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a really great recipe and stands up to its name! Now I had a hard time deciding between 4 and 5 stars, but picked 4 for these reasons: I made it as written and it was good. But I liked it better after I added some applesauce, more milk, apple pie spice, and even mini chocolate chips to some and raisins to some. I think I might like the texture (more like traditional buttermilk) if grinding the oats first. But I encourage you to try it and make it your own. Top it with syrup, nutella, etc. You wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Flavorful and healthy. For a finer texture, I ran the oats and buttermilk in the blender before the soak time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These were so fluffy and delicious! Loved having the oatmeal and whole wheat flour in there to make a pancake a little healthier. Will make again. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is our new pancake recipe...we like that they are more like dessert when we put blueberries and syrup on them. The only changes were to adjust for the half recipe...I put a full tsp of baking soda and baking powder in and a full 2 eggs. Also I like cinnamon so I put a little extra and a full tsp of vanilla. The batter was a little thick so I added extra milk about 1/4 cup more I think...I am more of and eye type cook! :) P.S. If you forget to soak the oats just let the batter sit for a little while before you start cooking. And if you grind up the oats first they don't need to soak as long! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States