Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is the bread loaf i will make now on and forever, I don't have a bread machine so i added a cup more of flour and added a tbsp of gluten. I substituted honey and molasses for the brown sugar and I omitted the sunflower seeds and the bread flour for spelt flour to get 100% whole grain bread. I also used oil instead of the butter. I also like to add dissolved (in water) vitamin C tablets to my bread it always makes the bread come out better (smoother and soft) for some reason. It makes a small loaf so I will double it from now on. This makes a great gift loaf of bread, great for sandwiches, french toast, toast or with dinner. Not heavy at all either. Dh and my picky eater little sister loved it, even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Fantastic recipe. I wanted a 100% whole-grain bread so I used all white wheat (white spring --Wheat Montana and King Arthur have this as do other brands, and it's a great way to get a lighter, sweeter flavored whole-wheat product) and it worked wonderfully. I used just 3 TBS of sweetener as suggested by others and as I didn't have sunflower seeds or quinoa, I used rolled oats and doubled up on the millet and flax. Great toasted. Makes a small loaf so next time I'll double. I also took mine out after dough setting and shaped it and let it rise for 30 min and placed it in a greased bread pan on a lower rack for 40 min. at 350. Delicious! Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I love this recipe! I use molasses and honey (just a little of each) instead of the brown sugar. I also add more seeds than stated in the recipe, but it is a fantastic base. I don't own a bread machine, so I bake it at 375F until golden brown and hollow sounding when tapped (1/2 hour to 45 min). The first time I made the bread, I followed the recipe exactly as is, and the bread was wonderful--albeit a bit too sweet. It was the best peanut butter and jelly sandwich bread on earth, though. Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Absolutely tasty!! It's a shame it was such a small loaf.I will cut the brown sugar in half, just because I try not to use much in any recipe. Wonderful flavour & texture. I didn't have millet, but just doubled the rest of the seeds & grains(we love our nuts & seeds). I have now made this loaf a few times & instead of the brown sugar I add 2TBS. honey & 2 TBS. molasses. I also now make this into a full loaf.....so it will last a day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This truly is a wonderful tasting bread. The texture is dense and compact, perfect for toast and sandwiches. I believe I will cut the brown sugar by about half next time, but otherwise this recipe is a gastronomic delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
I love this bread! I have been looking for a good multigrain/seed bread and have found it. It made a fairly small loaf in my 1-1.5# bread machine but was perfect for me and my daughter. It is particularly good when toasted (with peanut butter on it...yum!). The next time I will put the crust setting on light, as medium made it a little too dark for me. I will also probably increase the amounts of seeds and nuts. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I used the dough setting and let rise 30 min. then baked on lower rack for 30 min in a 375 F. oven. It is excellent with a great flavor and texture. So happy to find a Multigrain bread for the machine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I used 1/4 c. soaked wheat berries in place of millet, quinoa, and flax seeds. Made into hoagie buns and baked in a french bread pan. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Fabulous in the bread machine. What a shame I gave up my first machine for low carb eating. This recipe makes me sure I did the right thing in getting another! My husband commented on how good this bread was every time he ate a slice. Toasting in just made it more yummy! Use whatever seeds or grains you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
A very good, solid loaf. I find it turns out best when made with a light crust setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States