Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This tasted great, but didn't work well in my bread machine. Two cups of flour made a very short loaf. I doubled it, and it rose, then fell as it baked, leaving a huge hole in the finished loaf. However, this tastes good enough that I will try it again, this time doubling it but reducing the liquid by 1-2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Delicious bread. I substituted poppy seeds and extra sesame and sunflower seeds for the flax seeds. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. The bread is lihgter than I expected and just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
mm mmm very tasty! I made a few changes: no sunflower seeds or millet. Instead I added an additional tablespoon of sesame seed, a tablespoon of poppy seed, a tablespoon of bran and one teaspoon of whole flaxseed to go along with the one tablespoon of ground flaxseed. Also, I reduced the yeast to one tablespoon and it still rose beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Love this bread. I have cut the yeast down to 1T and the bread still comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I think this has now become my favorite bread. I used my bread machine's dough cycle and then baked it in the oven for 20 minutes at 325. Because I did this, I also added an additional 1/2c flour to make it more workable. I had no problem getting it to rise, but when my husband made it, it didn't rise for him. I may try cutting back on the sunflower seeds,though, as that flavor is just a little predominant. Otherwise, this was a wonderful recipe that I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Amazing- easy- just to bad that it didnt rise high enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Love this bread. It turned out great in my bread machine and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it many times now. Yum! I've tried many variations (poppy seeds instead of sesame, or adding wheat germ, doubling millet, omitting any grain that I'm out of, flax meal instead of seed, etc.) and it always turns out great. I omit the milk, and it is still great. An awesome base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Wonderful bread. I have had fun trying different combinations of seeds and grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMZ40

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
The bread was as described. The only changes I made were I used 1/4c. whole milk and 1/2c. of water since I didn't have dried milk. Also I only used 3 tsp. of instant yeast which seem to be plenty. For those not using a bread machine, I baked my loaf at 350deg for 35min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States