Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Followed this exactly (except for slightly increased amounts of grains and seeds), and it came out perfectly! Definitely a keeper! I actually reminded me of the bread I used to get in Germany! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Easy recipe to make, and I don't even have a bread machine. I will make this one again, and maybe play with the ingredients a little. I doubled the recipe but substituted molasses and honey for the brown sugar. I only wish I knew how to achieve a crustier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I wish my loaf had risen more, but it has a yummy flavor. I scaled it up to 18 servings (1.5x), used the sunflower seeds, millet, and bulgur wheat in place of the other seeds since I'm not real fond of them. I found that I had to add a lot more water to the dough when it was mixing in the machine. It did make a tasty bread, so I'll probably experiment some more with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is now my favorite roll recipe. Doubled the recipe and I added 1 TBL of gluten to the dough and allowed 2 rises before I shaped into rolls for sandwiches. Then let double for a total of 3 rises. This is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Important! Few things to note, if doubled, the recipe requires way too much yeast and sugar. I used a tablespoon of yeast (sill probably too much) and probably 1/3 cup sugar instead of 1/2 cup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I have been fiddling with this recipe for over a week now, and my recommendations are as follows: As recommended by several reviewers, I like to double the recipe for a full-size loaf in my 2lb. bread machine. I use a light crust setting. Reduce yeast by 1/3 and salt by 1/2. (I'm not a low-sodium person in general, the original recipe was just way too salty for me.) Increase the millet by at least 50% for a nice crunchy texture, or just throw in whatever grains you have on hand (I like to add bulgar wheat in the same proportions as the millet). Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Loved this recipe. Adjusted it (1 1/2 times) to fit closer to the usual recipe my husband uses in the machine. Worked out perfect. Didn't use the full amount of sugar, and used all whole wheat flour, but had everything else exact. My husband says the "verdict is still out" but he'll eat anything and it'll take some used to switching from white bread to whole wheat/grain bread. I know I'LL keep making this recipe! Look forward to trying different flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Fabulous! I replaced 1T of the sugar with 1T molasses for extra flavour and colour. Loaf turned out golden and nutty and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Great recipe. Bread turned out Perfect in my bread machine. I followed directions to a tee. I'll use this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This tasted great, but didn't work well in my bread machine. Two cups of flour made a very short loaf. I doubled it, and it rose, then fell as it baked, leaving a huge hole in the finished loaf. However, this tastes good enough that I will try it again, this time doubling it but reducing the liquid by 1-2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States