Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I hate when people review a recipe and have changed it so much that it's not even the recipe they're reviewing BUT - I never use powdered milk, so I did sub whole milk, and I prefer honey to processed sugar, so I did make those two changes. It was a very good bread. Tasted great toasted as a sandwich, and buttered up and fried as a grilled cheese sandwich. It didn't have as much depth as I would have hoped for, but was still very good. If you want a crispier crust, take it out of the bread machine after the dough cycle, transfer to a loaf, and let rise a second time, until double. Then bake for 30 minutes or until the internal temperature hits 190. This trick leads to high, beautiful loaves with real crusts (as opposed to some bread machines!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is one of the best breads I've made to date. I have been searching for a great multigrain and found it here. It is even more delicious when toasted. I don't have a breadmaker, so I made a few modifications. I mixed the water with 2 tbsp honey (instead of brown sugar), then added 1 tbsp. yeast (based on some of the comments posted) and let sit 10 min. I also used 1 tbsp of whole milk instead of powder. I didn't have millet so doubled up on the quinoa and it gave the bread a nice crunchy texture. Baked 375 for 30 min. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Wonderful bread! I love all of the different grains and seeds in this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! Have made it a couple of times and it always turns out perfectly. I make the dough in the machine, then braid it and bake it on a cookie sheet at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. This time, I substituted more millet for the sesame seeds, and omitted the dry milk powder (I was out). The bread was just as good as always...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Love this bread! Great with homemade jam. Can't wait to try it with different combos of seeds and grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was good, but I made these adjustments; used 2 C high gluten wheat flour 2 C bread flour. 1/2 C 7 grain blend, 2 Tbsp stone milled whole oats, 2 Tbsps sunflower seeds, 1/2 C brown sugar, 1/2 C molasses. It made a huge loaf so I will split it next time and make it into 2 smaller loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This came out great. My Hubby and I ate the whole loaf in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Stuck to this Basic Recipe since finding it(6 or 7 loaves ago). Don't have all the Ingredients so use: Sesame seed, Ground Flax Seed, Sunflower Seed, Oatmeal, Cornmeal, Quinoa. When short on one or more of those, I just double up on what I have up to 6 tblsp total. Used Canola Oil instead of Margarine(lazy) and added 1tblsp Lemon Juice. Great loaf of Bread every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
for crustier crust place a pan of water in oven with bread (I place it under the bread)or mist bread every 10 min. with a spray bottle, you have to double it its just sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ronald Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Wow! I wish I could rate something over five stars because this loaf surely deserves six! The crust is delightfully crunchy and yet the bread itself is chewy and sweet. Each seed adds a pop of flavor which all meld together with every bite. I would double the measurements next time as the bread was gobbled up within minutes of it emerging from the machine! Again, WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madsend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States