Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was REALLY good. I'm making it tonight too and I will double the recipe. I threw in some flax meal along with the flax seeds and it didn't hurt the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasja1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My first ever review of a recipe online, because this recipe is excellent - exactly as written. I don't know how it is possible to rate a posted recipe, after making numerous changes. Somewhat reminiscent of "Cobbs" quinoa bread. Soft and good texture inside, nice crust, and the lovely addition of the seeds and grains - for texture, flavour and health. First made the given quantity for 12 servings, and it was a little bit smallish. Second time, I made it in same breadmaker that does no more than 3 cups of flour, for 16 servings. For a while, I thought there was going to be overflow, but worked out fine. Did not change the ingredients or measurements as provided by adjustment, at all. At the same time made third loaf in another breadmaker that takes up to 4 cups of flour. Used adjusted recipe for 20 servings. Same ingredients, no change to the adjusted quantities. Another success. Now I am ready to experiment with maybe poppyseeds, chia seeds or hemp seeds. Might try to increase the proportion of whole wheat to white flour. Might play with olive oil, or coconut oil. Might play with honey or molasses. But only one change at a time!! Definitely a keeper recipe, that will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I've been looking for a bread like this for a long time. First of all - easy! The texture was great(definitely not fluff bread), it got a nice crust, tasted wonderful, utilized good fiber, seeds and grains. It's a nice small recipe for one or two meals and did I mention that it's easy enough to throw this recipe in the bread machine in the morning and have bread a few hours later or for the evening. Exactly what I was looking for. I will experiment with various seeds, nuts herbs and grains. Thanks Debbie! This is my new favorite thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This recipe is great. For my bread machine, I found that I needed to add more water. I package up pre-measured baggies of the sesame seeds, quinoa, flax, milk and millet an put in the freezer, so when I want to make a loaf, I just pull out a baggie to make the process faster. It makes THE BEST toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Tried this recipe today, bread sunk in the centre and didn't rise as much as it should have. I substituted the brown sugar with honey, should have reduced quantity according to previous reviews as the bread does turn out a tad too sweet. I also added a tablespoon of amaranth instead of the sesame, a handful of oats and used 2 cups wholemeal flour. So that could be the reason for not rising enough but oh well.. better luck to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I usually don't take the time to review recipes that have more than 50 reviews because people usually won't see them. This time I made an exception. This bread is review worthy. I hate reviews that modify the recipe so that you can't even identify the original recipe so I decided that I would make it as is, no modifications whatsoever. I'm so glad I did. This bread is amazing and it is now the go to for any bread that I want other than a default white loaf. Don't believe the hype about having to "modify" every recipe and just make it as it is. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
had one heck of a time making it without a bread machine. heres the alterations: mix dry ingredients together in one bowl, warm(NOT HOT) water in another with yeast and sugar till dissolved. add yeast mix to dry slowly and knead(with hands is best) until just combined then turn onto floured surface and finish kneading till the texture is similar to your earlobe(lumps from seeds are okay). place in greased bowl, grease top of dough, and cover to let rise for 30 mins. punch down and roll out with rolling pin till about 1/2" thick and oblong, roll up tightly to release any extra gas bubbles and fold edges under. place in greased loaf pan(grease top again) for another 30 minutes. then bake at 350 for 40 minutes. the rolling out and tucking under ensure an even texture inside and a smooth, rounded crust. take out, let cool on rack, and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is my go to recipe for wheat bread. I modify it to 16 servings, set the wheat cycle on my bread machine, then before it starts baking I take it out and put it in a loaf pan. Let it rise a bit more (or leave in the fridge over night) and bake in the oven. I just throw whatever extra seeds and grains I have on hand and it turns out great. I do make one change though-I use honey instead of brown sugar. I've tried it both ways and just prefer honey more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
LOVE this recipe! It's very flexible with the amount and types of grains. I doubled the recipe, added extra flax seed, substituted chia seed for the millet because that's what I had on hand and added a couple of tablespoons of oat bran as well. I put it in my bread machine on the dough cycle, then transferred to a loaf pan and baked in the oven at 350 for 20-25 minutes. My husband and I prefer the texture of oven baked bread so that's the only reason I did it that way. Either way, this is fantastic and it made my turkey and avocado sandwiches at lunch today taste oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I was so delighted when I came across this great receipt for hearty multigrain bread. Baked it today and a whole loaf was gone in 20 mins. Family totally loved it. The basic receipt is great but you can always vary. I used buttermilk instead of the water and replaced the sugar with 2 tbps of maple syrup didn't have honey, and used 3 tbps rolled oats, 2 tbps red quinoa, 1 tbs sesame seeds, 1 tbs of linseed, flaxseed and burger each. Came out great! Thanks for sharing this fantastic receipe it's a definite keeper and crowd pleaser so deserving of its 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States