Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Absolutely tasty!! It's a shame it was such a small loaf.I will cut the brown sugar in half, just because I try not to use much in any recipe. Wonderful flavour & texture. I didn't have millet, but just doubled the rest of the seeds & grains(we love our nuts & seeds). I have now made this loaf a few times & instead of the brown sugar I add 2TBS. honey & 2 TBS. molasses. I also now make this into a full loaf.....so it will last a day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Fantastic recipe. I wanted a 100% whole-grain bread so I used all white wheat (white spring --Wheat Montana and King Arthur have this as do other brands, and it's a great way to get a lighter, sweeter flavored whole-wheat product) and it worked wonderfully. I used just 3 TBS of sweetener as suggested by others and as I didn't have sunflower seeds or quinoa, I used rolled oats and doubled up on the millet and flax. Great toasted. Makes a small loaf so next time I'll double. I also took mine out after dough setting and shaped it and let it rise for 30 min and placed it in a greased bread pan on a lower rack for 40 min. at 350. Delicious! Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Fabulous in the bread machine. What a shame I gave up my first machine for low carb eating. This recipe makes me sure I did the right thing in getting another! My husband commented on how good this bread was every time he ate a slice. Toasting in just made it more yummy! Use whatever seeds or grains you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
What a delicious multigrain bread. The only thing I changed was the exclusion of sunflower seeds, since I didn't have any on hand. I think next time I may add some honey or molasses and add some dried currants. Will definitely make this again with the addition of a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I love this recipe! I use molasses and honey (just a little of each) instead of the brown sugar. I also add more seeds than stated in the recipe, but it is a fantastic base. I don't own a bread machine, so I bake it at 375F until golden brown and hollow sounding when tapped (1/2 hour to 45 min). The first time I made the bread, I followed the recipe exactly as is, and the bread was wonderful--albeit a bit too sweet. It was the best peanut butter and jelly sandwich bread on earth, though. Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Wonderful! Easy to make with the bread machine. I got my ingredience in bulk at a natural food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
As per others, I cut the sugar to 3 tbs and its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Delicious recipe :) The loaf is gone! Next time I made, I think I will cut the brown sugar in half. Abite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This truly is a wonderful tasting bread. The texture is dense and compact, perfect for toast and sandwiches. I believe I will cut the brown sugar by about half next time, but otherwise this recipe is a gastronomic delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I used 1/4 c. soaked wheat berries in place of millet, quinoa, and flax seeds. Made into hoagie buns and baked in a french bread pan. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States