Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is our favourite bread! It is made at least once a week and gets eaten up right away. I don't have any millet so I just use extra quinoa. I also double all the seeds & grains for an even grainier bread! GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I didn't like the fresh out of the bread maker taste of it - that's rare for bread... it was pretty good after 2 or 3 days - that's also rare... i liked it enough to finish it off but honestly, i'm not sure i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Tried it 2x. The 1st time it didn't rise, I thought it was my yeast. Tried it again with new yeast and still didn't work. Oh well, maybe someone else will have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Didn't really rise very well, and I really did try, but I have found that to be the case with other recipes for whole wheat flour. The flavor was pretty good, but overall I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Absolutely yummy, though I think I'll cut the yeast down next time. I made this by hand, and I always dissolve a Vit C tab in the water before proofing the yeast. If you make by hand, mix an extra ½ cup of each type flour (I used whole red [regular] wheat flour and hard white) for kneading It took about 8 minutes of kneading to reach the "baby's bottom" stage, and a full hour to rise in a warm oven After risen, I kneaded the dough for another 3 minutes before shaping and placing in my loaf pan and letting rise 30 more minutes. In a 375 degree F oven it took about 45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This is great! Dense and chewy and a great crust. I increased the recipe by 50%, mixed it in the bread maker, but baked it in a loaf pan in the oven. I had a VERY hard time getting it out of the pan, so next time, I will shape it on a cookie sheet or grease the pan like crazy and hope for better results. Happily, it was not for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This is the way I like my bread. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
healthy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is the bread loaf i will make now on and forever, I don't have a bread machine so i added a cup more of flour and added a tbsp of gluten. I substituted honey and molasses for the brown sugar and I omitted the sunflower seeds and the bread flour for spelt flour to get 100% whole grain bread. I also used oil instead of the butter. I also like to add dissolved (in water) vitamin C tablets to my bread it always makes the bread come out better (smoother and soft) for some reason. It makes a small loaf so I will double it from now on. This makes a great gift loaf of bread, great for sandwiches, french toast, toast or with dinner. Not heavy at all either. Dh and my picky eater little sister loved it, even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
We all enjoyed it - went fast too. I also substituted for what I didn't have, so I used sunflower seeds, sesame, oats & wheat berrys. Also overnighted the dough in the fridge and rose it for an hour in the oven at ~80 deg then baked til it got to 195 deg inside the loaf. Nice rounded shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States