Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
One star because there is only one step of the directions. Otherwise looks good. Wonder what the rest of the steps are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Taluc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marysab
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Mine came out REALLY dense, not sure if it was supposed to be like that or not but I wasn't a huge fan. With that being said, the flavor was still good in the pieces i tried! I guess I've just found out I'm not a dense bread kinda gal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is a great, chewy, healthy and delicious bread. I do not have a bread maker, and after reading several reviews, I tweaked it a bit to leave out the white flour. I used 1 1/2 cups spelt flour, 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, and I also added Chia to the mix (1 tablespoon). Instead of butter, I used Earth Balance (I'm dairy free), and added a bit more water when the dough mixture wasn't really getting it together in my stand mixer. Then I used a spatula to combine and then I kneaded for a minute or so. If you're using spelt flour, you don't want to knead it too much or you'll end up with a crumbly mess. Placed in a warm place to rise for 1/2 an hour -- which it didn't really rise that much. I used a package of active dry yeast for whole grain breads. I also substituted honey and molasses for the sugar. (1/3 cup honey and a drizzle of molasses.) As I wanted a really hearty bread, I also added about 1/4 cup of rolled oats. Placed in a greased bread dish and baked on the bottom rack of the oven at 350 for 35 min. The next time I am doing this bread, I'm going to put an egg wash on it, as the top was a little dry. But it is great in the toaster with some (fake) butter and honey spread on it. Nooom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This makes the most amazing French Toast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe as written & when the cycle was done it was evident that the bread had not risen, it was extremely dry and broke apart when I took it out of the basket. This may be a great recipe with modifications but not as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Absolutely amazing! Like others, I don't have a bread machine so I baked on 350F for about 40 minutes. I couldn't find millet and I added an extra tablespoon of all the nuts, but otherwise followed the instructions exactly. I will never buy store bought multigrain bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious, it is even better than Oroweat 12 grain which was my favorite and also one of the most expensive loaves on the rack. Thank you for the awesome and again very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTheGusto
Home Town: Vashon Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was a yummy bread. I made a couple of substitutions based on what was on hand, but in essence I followed the recipe. Due to a couple of changes I had to make to yeast amounts for high altitude and baking in the oven it didn't rise as much as I would have liked. Not the fault of the recipe, but my adjustments. Next time I'll use a little more yeast, and, oh yes, there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very wonderful bread, I am vegan and I added coconut oil verses butter, i also added pumkin seeds by mistake, thought I had sunflower seeds in my hand... but no old age I guess... however, what a lovely recipe. I personally didn't have a bread machine either and mixed it all up until combined, then let it rest for 8 minutes. Flop it out on to a lightly floured board and knead it for a few turns, sprinkle a little more flour and knead for a full 10 minutes (just think of that last guy that broke your heart and what you'd like to do to him; or lady if you're a fellow here) :) . Place in a bowl and cover tightly with plastic wrap and place in a warm place for an hour and a half. after rising punch down gently and shape into your loaf, mine was round. let rise one more time for at very least 30 minutes. then place the loaf on a stone or pan and heat your oven to 350. When the oven is heated now set the timer for 40 minutes. Yup... it's a little rising trick I found out by mistake one day. Works pretty good. GREAT BREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was REALLY good. I'm making it tonight too and I will double the recipe. I threw in some flax meal along with the flax seeds and it didn't hurt the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasja1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States