Hearty Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. I did find it needed more broth even though I did not add extra vegetables. I added two additional cans beef broth and 1/4 cup ketchup. SUPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I can't believe no one has posted a review of this wonderful recipe! I grew up eating minestrone with small chunks of beef in it. This recipe with sausage is sooooooo much better! The broth is delicious, and the vegetables tender and flavorful. I only had white wine on hand so I had to substitute. It was still outstanding in every way. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
We give this a 5! Super good recipe. The only issue we had was that there was not nearly enough broth but this could be that we used a little bit more of each of the veggies than called for. My husband found it a bit salty so next time we will not add any extra salt but super delicious and we cannot wait to make it again (though with the extra broth we added we have enough for two more meals at least)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great soup recipe. Good vegetable/sausage/spices ratio. I made a lot of substitutions based on what I had, and it turned out great. I used green beans, carrots, black beans and chicken stock for the beef broth and red wine. We used mild instead of hot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
It was good. Minestrone-y, but sort of stewish. I added rutabaga and sauteed it with the potatoes. Then I drank the rest of the bottle of wine with my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Best. Soup. EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is probably the best soup that I have ever had, it's definitely the best I've ever made myself. The only problem is that the broth needed to be doubled. Otherwise it is AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
great recipe The Johnsonville sausage makes a difference. I have used other brand of sausages in minestrone but these have a nice and unique flavor. I used the Johnsonville Italian sausage patties as I could not find links. Oops I forgot the wine but it was still great. I am not going to forget this ingredient today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
fantastic! i used johnsonville sweet sausage as my family is not big on anything spicy and i added minced garlic. I used one can less broth and added water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Great soup! I used sweet Italian sausage, instead of hot (I'm feeding kids). I sauteed the sausage with the pepper, onion, and celery in a little cooking spray. Then I dumped that into my crock pot with all the rest of the ingredients, except for the pasta. I used tomato juice instead of red wine, and diced Italian style tomatoes for the whole tomatoes. I let it cook on low all day long, and then added the pasta at the end and let it cook on high for 30 minutes. This made a very nice soup that was delicious and kid friendly, and packed with veggies. Next time, I think I will double the broth so I can add even more veggies, such as green beans, carrots, green pepper, yellow squash, kidney beans, spinach, parsley, etc. Though, I thought the broth to ingredients ratio with the recipe as written was perfectly fine. But then, I prefer a thick, almost chili or stew-like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States