Hearty Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I can't believe no one has posted a review of this wonderful recipe! I grew up eating minestrone with small chunks of beef in it. This recipe with sausage is sooooooo much better! The broth is delicious, and the vegetables tender and flavorful. I only had white wine on hand so I had to substitute. It was still outstanding in every way. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
We give this a 5! Super good recipe. The only issue we had was that there was not nearly enough broth but this could be that we used a little bit more of each of the veggies than called for. My husband found it a bit salty so next time we will not add any extra salt but super delicious and we cannot wait to make it again (though with the extra broth we added we have enough for two more meals at least)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great soup recipe. Good vegetable/sausage/spices ratio. I made a lot of substitutions based on what I had, and it turned out great. I used green beans, carrots, black beans and chicken stock for the beef broth and red wine. We used mild instead of hot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
It was good. Minestrone-y, but sort of stewish. I added rutabaga and sauteed it with the potatoes. Then I drank the rest of the bottle of wine with my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. I did find it needed more broth even though I did not add extra vegetables. I added two additional cans beef broth and 1/4 cup ketchup. SUPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Best. Soup. EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is probably the best soup that I have ever had, it's definitely the best I've ever made myself. The only problem is that the broth needed to be doubled. Otherwise it is AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I'm always looking for a quick and tasty soup. This fits the bill. I made some adjustments. I used bulk sweet Italian sausage. I added: 1 small chopped green pepper and 1 yellow (summer squash). I added 1 can of rinsed and drained low sodium kidney beans. I used 3 cans of low sodium beef broth and 1 can of low sodium chicken broth. For more flavor, I added 2 T. of Worcestershire sauce , 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. I would suggest cooking 20 min. before adding the beans and the pasta, then continue to simmer for 10 min. The pasta will continue to cook as the soup cools. I will definitely make this again. Mary Jo M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent flavor.....2 thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Good foundational blueprint for minestrone which, by definition, is simply a vegetable soup (meat optional) that includes making use of the vegetables you have at hand. Every time you make it, it will be a variation of what you made before. I did the same, following the general recipe but with some liberty – added garlic and fresh parsley, mini beef tortellini for the pasta, ceci (garbanzo) beans rather than Great Northern, eliminated the potatoes (not a fan), skipped the zucchini only because I didn’t have any, used my own tomatoes put up from my garden, some leftover mushrooms, and added some leftover spinach at the end, just long enough to wilt it. No need to measure anything; toss in broth, pasta, tomatoes and vegetables as it pleases you. This soup was a lifesaver tonight – after a day of a couple of long mishaps that ate up most of my day, this came together quickly to produce a nutritious, delicious and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States