Hearty Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Great soup! I used sweet Italian sausage, instead of hot (I'm feeding kids). I sauteed the sausage with the pepper, onion, and celery in a little cooking spray. Then I dumped that into my crock pot with all the rest of the ingredients, except for the pasta. I used tomato juice instead of red wine, and diced Italian style tomatoes for the whole tomatoes. I let it cook on low all day long, and then added the pasta at the end and let it cook on high for 30 minutes. This made a very nice soup that was delicious and kid friendly, and packed with veggies. Next time, I think I will double the broth so I can add even more veggies, such as green beans, carrots, green pepper, yellow squash, kidney beans, spinach, parsley, etc. Though, I thought the broth to ingredients ratio with the recipe as written was perfectly fine. But then, I prefer a thick, almost chili or stew-like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
fantastic! i used johnsonville sweet sausage as my family is not big on anything spicy and i added minced garlic. I used one can less broth and added water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
great recipe The Johnsonville sausage makes a difference. I have used other brand of sausages in minestrone but these have a nice and unique flavor. I used the Johnsonville Italian sausage patties as I could not find links. Oops I forgot the wine but it was still great. I am not going to forget this ingredient today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Good foundational blueprint for minestrone which, by definition, is simply a vegetable soup (meat optional) that includes making use of the vegetables you have at hand. Every time you make it, it will be a variation of what you made before. I did the same, following the general recipe but with some liberty – added garlic and fresh parsley, mini beef tortellini for the pasta, ceci (garbanzo) beans rather than Great Northern, eliminated the potatoes (not a fan), skipped the zucchini only because I didn’t have any, used my own tomatoes put up from my garden, some leftover mushrooms, and added some leftover spinach at the end, just long enough to wilt it. No need to measure anything; toss in broth, pasta, tomatoes and vegetables as it pleases you. This soup was a lifesaver tonight – after a day of a couple of long mishaps that ate up most of my day, this came together quickly to produce a nutritious, delicious and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent flavor.....2 thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I'm always looking for a quick and tasty soup. This fits the bill. I made some adjustments. I used bulk sweet Italian sausage. I added: 1 small chopped green pepper and 1 yellow (summer squash). I added 1 can of rinsed and drained low sodium kidney beans. I used 3 cans of low sodium beef broth and 1 can of low sodium chicken broth. For more flavor, I added 2 T. of Worcestershire sauce , 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. I would suggest cooking 20 min. before adding the beans and the pasta, then continue to simmer for 10 min. The pasta will continue to cook as the soup cools. I will definitely make this again. Mary Jo M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is probably the best soup that I have ever had, it's definitely the best I've ever made myself. The only problem is that the broth needed to be doubled. Otherwise it is AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Best. Soup. EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. I did find it needed more broth even though I did not add extra vegetables. I added two additional cans beef broth and 1/4 cup ketchup. SUPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States