Hearty Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This soup is an absolute winner. I have made it many times. I too add additional broth, some Italian seasoning, and corn. I cut back pasta to 1 1/2c. My husband is actually quite a good cook and he LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I followed what the other reviewers said and added extra broth as it needed it after I put extra vegetables in it. It was perfect as served but leftovers were not to be had as the noodles continued cooking from the heat of the soup and became overdone. Will remember to take it off burner sooner so we can have leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very good! A touch spicy. I added more broth than called for, skipped the potato, and added carrot. Was better the second day, when I pulled it out of the fridge and removed the solid, spicy grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is a delicious bowl of comfort food! Love the extra zing from the sausage. I will use the mild or sweet sausage next time as it was too spicy for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is a tasty and hearty soup. The only thing I would change is add 2 cups more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I add any leftover vegs. Always turns out delicious. Sub kidney beans whenever I don't have white. I boil the pasta separately so that it doesn't soak up the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I stopped by my Mums house on the way home from work and she asked me if I wanted to try the soup she made, suffice it to say I stopped by the store on my way home and picked up the ingredients. AWESOME! I usually keep my Minestrone vegetarian and also have never added wine but it was great. Bless my Mum who always finds time to try new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Delicious. My husband wasn't thrilled when I told him what was for dinner, he isn't a fan of minestrone but he ended up loving this recipe. I think it was the spicy Italian sausage that made him happy. I added an extra zucchini, minced garlic, and some tomato sauce that I needed to use up. Easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
The next time I make this, I will omit the wine, beans and potatoes. We thought they were out of place in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
What an awesome recipe! Like others I put my own spin on it. First and foremost, no wine in this house, I replaced it with 2 cups of chicken broth, because it's what I had on hand, and 2 cups instead of one because I increased the veggies quite a bit. The only thing I omitted was the potatoes, I don't care for them. And I added the following: a yellow pepper, a yellow squash, cabbage (I just couldn't imagine minestrone without it), garbanzo beans, and red kidney beans. I also tossed a piece of parmesean cheese in - a trick I learned from the Carraba's recipe for minestrone. As someone suggested I waited until about 10-12 minutes from the end to add beans and pasta. I felt this would insure a more al dente texture. Oh, and I used Johnsonville Mild ground sausage. I meant to buy the links, but when I got home I found that I'd gotten the ground, so I made little meatballs out of it and sauted them up as directed. Oh, and I tossed in some garlic and onion powders - they're like my "salt and pepper to taste." And I salted and peppered to taste too, which included adding no salt, although I didn't find it salty, I didn't find it laking salt, and thought it would be better for individuals to add their own if desired. This is an awesome place to start a minestrone, and we will have plenty for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States