Hearty Mince Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I made this last night but modified the recipe as follows: instead of tomato juice, I used diced tomatos with the juice; I did not use the sherry; I added 1 tsp basil and and 1 tsp oregano. I mixed together a cup of Parmesan Cheese and 1/2 breadcrumbs and sprinkled it on top when the dish was finished. It made a nice topping and added extra flavor. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
My husband took one look and said, "Oh, we're having Hamburger Helper." Not what I want to hear when I've made something from scratch. Unfortunately, it tasted like Hamburger Helper too. The sherry gave it a little bit of an odd flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Was looking for something to make when i was almost completely out of groceries. SO mine got made with 8oz of tomato paste and just the 1 cup of water needed to melt the bouillon cubes. I did have sherry but had to use celery seed, instead of celery salt and real mayonnaise instead of sour cream.....surprisingly it was quite good....texture was nice and thik and the whole family gobbled it down...Dont get me wrong, i wouldnt fix it for company but it was very nice alternative for low grocery day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is a great tasting and easy weekday meal. I did use V8, and added in extra Worcestshire sauce, but I didn't use the sherry. I also eliminated the water and replaced it with more beef stock. For those who like to cut back on the fat, make sure to drain the meat before adding in the rest of the ingredients because this isn't noted in the directions. This is a favorite at my house and I have made it again and again. There are never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful dish for a busy night and the whole family enjoys it. It was a bit watery, but still quite tasty. I am making it for the second time tonight and am going to go a little heavier on the stock and sherry to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love all the comments about Hamburger Helper. Where did you think Hamburger Helper came from? Serious generation gap thing here, lol! I can still hear my mother saying she wasn't going to pay good money for that boxed stuff when she could make better hamburger skillet herself. That said, I really liked this. I did make a couple of changes. I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder and used V8 because that's what I had in the house; no tomato juice. I also had no sherry, and didn't substitute anything. Oh, and I used butter not margerine. I'm looking forward to making it as written next time when I have the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I had mixed reviews from the family. Husband was so-so, kids didn't like it, but I loved it! However, I found it to be very soupy. Maybe I did something wrong but I would probably cut out the water and/or add some more pasta. I just saved the extra sauce for another time. I also put some grated Romano on top - delicious! Since I had roast beef on hand, I used that instead of ground beef and I would do that again. Not sure I would like it with hamburger. Anyway - it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This beef dish was absoulutly beutifull ,Loved it. "Would recommend to anybody"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My family liked this and I followed the recipe to a t. There was a little too much liquid so I would leave out a little water as others suggested. Was a fast and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I've never tried Hamburger Helper, so I can't comment on that. However, I just got up from the table after trying this recipe and it was simply delicious. As recommended below, I didn't use water, but used a total of 2 cups of tomato juice and 2 cups of beef broth (didn't have any beef stock handy). I think that using the water would dilute the wonderful blend of flavors. We don't do celery, so I didn't put in the celery salt, but added 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt and 1/4 teaspoon garlic granules. Also, I used ziti for the pasta (that's what I had on hand) and it was done in about 25 minutes. The sour cream and sherry at the end gave it a very smooth and sophisticated flavor and the parsley adds a little freshness. With those changes, this becomes a 5-star rated quickie dish. This one goes into the ranch's cooking binders! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States