Hearty Mince Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
My husband took one look and said, "Oh, we're having Hamburger Helper." Not what I want to hear when I've made something from scratch. Unfortunately, it tasted like Hamburger Helper too. The sherry gave it a little bit of an odd flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This beef dish was absoulutly beutifull ,Loved it. "Would recommend to anybody"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I had mixed reviews from the family. Husband was so-so, kids didn't like it, but I loved it! However, I found it to be very soupy. Maybe I did something wrong but I would probably cut out the water and/or add some more pasta. I just saved the extra sauce for another time. I also put some grated Romano on top - delicious! Since I had roast beef on hand, I used that instead of ground beef and I would do that again. Not sure I would like it with hamburger. Anyway - it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
My husband & I thought this dish was REALLY GREAT! We put ours in bread bowls and that was good. I also used 2 cups of pasta, and less parsley, only 1/2 cup. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I made this last night but modified the recipe as follows: instead of tomato juice, I used diced tomatos with the juice; I did not use the sherry; I added 1 tsp basil and and 1 tsp oregano. I mixed together a cup of Parmesan Cheese and 1/2 breadcrumbs and sprinkled it on top when the dish was finished. It made a nice topping and added extra flavor. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful dish for a busy night and the whole family enjoys it. It was a bit watery, but still quite tasty. I am making it for the second time tonight and am going to go a little heavier on the stock and sherry to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I absolutely LOVED this dish...as did my entire family. It's easy...and still incredibly filling and flavorful. This will forever be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was a huge hit with my family! My 14 year old son absolutely loved it. I used V-8 juice instead of tomato and lowfat sour cream. Will definately make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This was really good and flavorful, but as soon as it was finished, I realized that I just made homemade hamburger helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I was skeptical, but it turned out really well. I did make a few changes though because of others' complaints about blandness. I didn't use any water--all beef stock instead. I also used more worcestershire sauce and added salt and pepper. To up the nutritional content, I used about half the pasta and added 1/2 cup pearl barley, and no sherry. It was really good and homey tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States