Hearty Mince Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
My husband took one look and said, "Oh, we're having Hamburger Helper." Not what I want to hear when I've made something from scratch. Unfortunately, it tasted like Hamburger Helper too. The sherry gave it a little bit of an odd flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This beef dish was absoulutly beutifull ,Loved it. "Would recommend to anybody"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I had mixed reviews from the family. Husband was so-so, kids didn't like it, but I loved it! However, I found it to be very soupy. Maybe I did something wrong but I would probably cut out the water and/or add some more pasta. I just saved the extra sauce for another time. I also put some grated Romano on top - delicious! Since I had roast beef on hand, I used that instead of ground beef and I would do that again. Not sure I would like it with hamburger. Anyway - it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
My husband & I thought this dish was REALLY GREAT! We put ours in bread bowls and that was good. I also used 2 cups of pasta, and less parsley, only 1/2 cup. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I made this last night but modified the recipe as follows: instead of tomato juice, I used diced tomatos with the juice; I did not use the sherry; I added 1 tsp basil and and 1 tsp oregano. I mixed together a cup of Parmesan Cheese and 1/2 breadcrumbs and sprinkled it on top when the dish was finished. It made a nice topping and added extra flavor. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful dish for a busy night and the whole family enjoys it. It was a bit watery, but still quite tasty. I am making it for the second time tonight and am going to go a little heavier on the stock and sherry to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I absolutely LOVED this dish...as did my entire family. It's easy...and still incredibly filling and flavorful. This will forever be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was a huge hit with my family! My 14 year old son absolutely loved it. I used V-8 juice instead of tomato and lowfat sour cream. Will definately make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This was really good and flavorful, but as soon as it was finished, I realized that I just made homemade hamburger helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I was skeptical, but it turned out really well. I did make a few changes though because of others' complaints about blandness. I didn't use any water--all beef stock instead. I also used more worcestershire sauce and added salt and pepper. To up the nutritional content, I used about half the pasta and added 1/2 cup pearl barley, and no sherry. It was really good and homey tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States