Hearty Mince Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I like anything you can make in one skillet and this was very easy to make. I used some ziti instead of rotini, which took longer to cook. The sour cream and sherry are what really make this good. Next time I will double for more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used V-8 juice instead of reg. tomato juice and I used garlic powder and salt instead of celery salt. Definately will put this on my regular recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Was looking for something to make when i was almost completely out of groceries. SO mine got made with 8oz of tomato paste and just the 1 cup of water needed to melt the bouillon cubes. I did have sherry but had to use celery seed, instead of celery salt and real mayonnaise instead of sour cream.....surprisingly it was quite good....texture was nice and thik and the whole family gobbled it down...Dont get me wrong, i wouldnt fix it for company but it was very nice alternative for low grocery day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good homemade recipe for "hamburger helper". Certainly fits for a quick weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
So I've already reviewed this once. Just wanted to say that I add two carrots, two zucchinis, and a red pepper (all diced) to my mince. An easy way to get kids (and my husband) to eat veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
It's good. I used 1 can diced tomato and 1 can beef broth instead of water. I didn't have celery salt, parsley and sherry so I didn't use them. I added 1 tsp oregano and 1 tsp basil to the mixture, and 2 cups of pasta. Not bad! Thank you for a simple yet tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
It was as described - hearty. It was a good simple dish that was a hit with my husband and kids. I did beef up the tomato flavour which I think helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was ok. My husband nailed it when he said it tasted like Hamburger Helper. It was decent and I'm glad I tried it- but I wouldn't go out of my way to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I really liked the recipe, though I made a few changes. I cut out the margarine, water, parsley, sherry and sour cream. I substituted the tomato juice for a can of diced tomato's, onions and green peppers (capsicum). 1/2 cup of beef stock for 1 and 1/2 cups of vegetable stock. 1/2 cup of pasta for 2 cups of pasta. My husband really liked it and said that it was one of the best meals that I've made to date. I really enjoyed the meal too : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I tried all the suggestions to boost the flavor of this dish, but it just didn't work for me. I even added tomato sauce instead of tomato juice. Way too bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States