Hearty Meatball Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Awesome! My family loves hearty soups, so I made a few changes and additions. I didn't have onion, so I added some dry onion soup mix to the meatballs. I also added some worcestershire sauce to the meatballs and a few dashes to the soup. I used about 3 cups of water and one Tbsp. of beef bouillon (equal to about 3 cubes, I think) to make the soup. I also added a can of diced tomatoes and a half cup of rice. I waited until the very end to add the low-sodium cream of mushroom soup. Everyone in my family raved, even my picky 4 year old! My two year old even ate a whole bowl and my 6 year old had three helpings! This one is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This is an excellent soup! It’s very hearty, tasty and low in fat. I did tweak it a bit to add a little more flavor and reduce the fat even more… First, I used about ½ cup minced onion and about 2 tbs. fresh minced garlic in the meatballs. Second, there is no need to cook the meatballs in oil if you have a good non-stick pan. And finally I used non-fat chicken stock and non-fat cream of mushroom soup. This is excellent and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This soup was very good. I added onion soup mix in addition to two bouillon cubes, and added a teaspoon of worcestshire sauce to give it a little added kick. I also used less carrots and celery than the recipe called for, with no sacrifice in flavor. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
What a yummy soup! Instead of making meatballs I omitted the egg and just crumbled the meat. I also used chicken stock instead of beef and the mushroom soup that I used was "Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic". It was very salty but had great flavor. I served it with homemade garlic dinner rolls and waldorf salad. It was a perfect meal for a very rainy day. Update 2008: I added an extra can of beef broth and half a box of rotini noodles and made it like a stew. Still tastes great and is a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I cheated and used pre-made frozen meatballs. it was that much easier and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This was my first attempt at a meatball soup. I enjoyed the flavor very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Very good and hearty soup. I improvised a bit by adding worcheshire sauce and parsley flakes to the meatballs, and more wocheshire sauce, an extra bouilon cube, and a dash of sherry to the soup. I also simmered the soup covered to hold in some of the liquid and make it "soupier". It turned out fantastic. We can not wait to finish it up tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Didn't taste bad, but not one of my favorites. Unappealing to look at. The mushroom soup gives it a gray color. If it weren't for the vegetables, you'd think it was pet food. I had to double the soup and water because it wasn't enough broth. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Great soup. Kind of like a stew. Great for a cold winter night. My husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was delicious with some changes and additions. I added bread crumbs and garlic to the meatballs and cut back on the onions overall. Added an extra cup of broth, half the carrots, and a few handfuls of pasta. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States