Hearty Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Five stars for the awesome solution to an age-old dilemma: how to enjoy a meatball sub without playing the catch-the-saucy-meatball game everyone loves so much. It should have been a no-brainer, but I've been eating them for years and never thought of this... What a forehead-slapping moment reading this recipe was. I scaled the recipe down because it was just me eating, and I just made a mini-log and baked it for about 20 mins, then just slid it right into my pre-toasted bread. For an extra treat, try brushing your bread with a little olive oil and sprinkle some cheese on before toasting. I hate soggy bread, so I heated the sauce separately and then added it to the sandwich at the last second before sprinkling more cheese on top. Absolutely perfect meatball.. er, meatLOG sub experience! I also upped the spices and added basil/oregano because I love robust food. Thanks so much for this one.. you've truly changed my life.. or at least the part of it that involves meatball subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My family loves this recipe! It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Yum - I made it exactly according to recipe and it was really good!!!!!! My pick husband really liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
this is the best sandwich i have ever tasted it was amazing i gave it to my whole familt to try and they lived it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS: After making this for several years, I realized that i never made a review & many things weren't mentioned enough so it's confusing to know what to follow. 1. Just tastes better to have the traditional balls instead of slicing!!! 350 for 30 min or until outside is nice brown color (i just use 1lb). To make it easier, you can still follow directions and make log (width/height of desired meatballs), but cut PRIOR to putting in oven. If I do make these into sammies b/c I only have hamburger buns, I make log into RECTANGLE with desired thickness and bake for 30 min at 350 (so tender)! 2nd, DO NOT add a T of pepper. A tsp is fine, and there is no need for salt. 3rd, add a tsp of italian seasoning or make your own combination (oregano, basil, garlic powder). 4th, my husband is not a fan of onions but doesn't mind if I stick green onions in. Last, if you like more of a meatball texture ...add an egg. I don't. I DO like that I can make ahead and then when ready, re-heat meatballs in marina sauce which I have in a saucepan. Then just stick in oven when the men in your family want a quick meal (i have all boys)! For the marina sauce, I use what I have on hand (chunky spaghetti sauce)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Pretty good and certainly a lot neater than regular meatballs in a sandwich. Next time, I would certainly toast those buns first. Instead of forming a log and putting it in a baking dish, I put it into a disposable aluminum loaf pan into which I had punched holes, then placed that on some throw-away chop sticks in a baking dish to catch the drippings. It comes out easily after it's cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Husband declared this the best meatball sandwich ever. Reheating tip - heat slices and sauce in saute pan for a few minutes before assembling sandwich. LOVE the flat meatball sandwich. It's a forehead-smacker, it's so obvious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaBarba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was just ok....I do agree with some of the reviews tho' I like the idea of no meat balls falling out of your sandwich. Will prob make again as a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Creekside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Yummy recipe. I added a little basil and took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the meat in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I made this recipe before and instead of marinara sauce i used the manwich bold sauce and it was GREAT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonerbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States