Hearty Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
The other reviewers who made this into meathballs crack me up! :) The whole point is to avoid a sandwich that consists of small balls of meat. You know -- it's about avoiding that biting sequence that goes something like "bread, meat, sauce, more sauce, little bit of meat, whole lotta meat, lots of saucy bread, etc." For my part, I used four cloves of minced garlic instead of the garlic powder and enjoyed a sandwich in which the biting sequence was more like, "bread/meat/cheese/sauce. . .bread/meat/cheese/sauce." Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS: After making this for several years, I realized that i never made a review & many things weren't mentioned enough so it's confusing to know what to follow. 1. Just tastes better to have the traditional balls instead of slicing!!! 350 for 30 min or until outside is nice brown color (i just use 1lb). To make it easier, you can still follow directions and make log (width/height of desired meatballs), but cut PRIOR to putting in oven. If I do make these into sammies b/c I only have hamburger buns, I make log into RECTANGLE with desired thickness and bake for 30 min at 350 (so tender)! 2nd, DO NOT add a T of pepper. A tsp is fine, and there is no need for salt. 3rd, add a tsp of italian seasoning or make your own combination (oregano, basil, garlic powder). 4th, my husband is not a fan of onions but doesn't mind if I stick green onions in. Last, if you like more of a meatball texture ...add an egg. I don't. I DO like that I can make ahead and then when ready, re-heat meatballs in marina sauce which I have in a saucepan. Then just stick in oven when the men in your family want a quick meal (i have all boys)! For the marina sauce, I use what I have on hand (chunky spaghetti sauce)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Thank goodness football season is over. Do you have any idea how many times I had to make these on Sunday???? The only thing I did different was used steak buns. Took a clove of garlic and brushed it over the inside and bottom side of bread, brushed outside of bread top with olive oil. Popped the meat inside with mozzerella cheese, put on a baking sheet baked until cheese was melted and tops were browned. The guys loved them, all through football season!!!!!!!!! Now there wifes want the recipe, don't think so!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This was wonderful! It was a hit with my family! I only made two changes. Instead of 1 1/2 pounds of hamburger, I used one pound of hamburger and 1/2 pound Italian sausage. I also reduced pepper to 1 teaspoon instead of tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good sandwich. My husband is from the East Coast and loves this sub! I made this as stated the first time and it was good. From then on, however, I adjusted to our tastes by adding 1 1/2 tsp. of oregano and 1 1/2 tsp. of basil to the loaf. I add one egg, and a full cup of mozzarella cheese to the loaf with extra cheese on top. I also leave out the onion. We always serve this on lightly toasted buns with sauteed onions and peppers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Delicious sub!!! I docctored it up to make it 5 stars: 1. Omit the salt. 2. Cut the pepper down to 1 teaspoon. 3. Mix 1 lb. ground beef with 1/2 lb. ground pork. 4. Add 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was GREAT. I did dump a bunch of spices in the meat before baking b/c I always like my meatballs well seasoned. Added dried basil, garlic, red pepper flakes, parsley, onion powder, etc. SO moist and I also spread garlic butter on the hoagies before adding meat and cheese and toasting and did not add the sauce. Served with sauce on the side to dip into (can't do soggy bread at all). My husband was dreaming of this and it was not a let down at all. Great idea to slice it instead of meatballs, so slipping meat on these sandwhiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I just thought this was Ok. The meatballs were missing some seasoning and came out a little too much like a hamburger for my tast. I do like the idea of baking in a log shape to help keep the sandwich together. Also, I put the bread in the oven for a few minutes to toast it prior to loading it up (to keep it from getting soggy). Then I made the sandwich and wrapped it according to the instructions. No soggy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBUSKIRK
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I rolled them into balls for meatball subs. YUMMY!!!! Next time I will bake them in the sauce instead of adding the sauce later. Mushrooms and black olives would be good on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I didn't have any Italian bread crumbs on hand so I just used plain bread crumbs and seasoned them with dried parsley, oregano and cilantro. I also added some minced garlic, garlic salt and an egg, and I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. Really simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States