Hearty Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This really had great flavor! I made exactly as the recipe states, except I did not blend it either. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I just made this today! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This soup is great! I absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious even without the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this first as indicated in the posted recipe and thought it was good, but I didn't love it. I didn't care for the broth and thought the spices needed a little tweak. So I made it again, but this time, I sautéed one white onion (no leeks or green onion used), and then added 1/2 tsp of both cumin and coriander to the onion in the pan. I didn't use the red wine, but instead increased the chicken broth by an extra 1/2 cup to ensure the amount of liquid was the same as the original recipe. With these changes, I thought it was fantastic. Thanks for the kick start on this great vegetarian soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This soup is awesome! I also use it as a base for lentil shepherd's pie, just add less liquid. My family didn't believe there was no meat in it! I think when I make either of them I add more red wine than it calls for and I'm pretty liberal with seasoning. Definitely recommend trying this and adding your own spin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
So good. Added a bit more red wine, Worcestershire, and soy sauce. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfenese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was REALLY delicious. But, you absolutely need more broth, even if you like it chunky (which I do!). I had doubled the recipe and ended up adding 2-3 cups more of vegetable broth. Didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Due to the fact that I live in the middle of nowhere, I didn't use a parsnip, but didn't feel like it took away from the soup. Still absolutely delicuous, the worcestershire, red wine, and soy sauce really added that extra flavor that I am always looking for in my lentil soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! The only changes I made were to add more potatoes and carrots, as well as some curry and cumin. Delicious! I made this only a few days ago, intentionally doubled the recipe to freeze a bunch... it's already been thawed and eaten. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chemainus, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States