Hearty Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Excellent! I used olive oil instead of veggie oil. I also used red lentils since that is what I had on hand, and it was perfect. My husband loved it, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was absolutely delicous! It was comfot food and I felt so good about eating it, knowing how healthy it was! I substituted corn oil, 1 large onion, 2 real tomatoes diced, chicken stock, cooking wine, 1/4 bunch of cilantro. I also omitted the parsnip because they dont have them at the supermarket. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out so great. I served half as a soup (using most of the liquid). And the next day I served it with brown rice like rice-and-beans. Any vegetarian will be like "yumskers!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Just what you need for a cold night! Warm, hearty. One change - I did not put it in the blender - I kept it as a chunky stew. Fabulous! Made the work easier too. I made it a week ago and we are still eating the leftovers. And I don't eat leftovers - so that should say something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Excellent soup for those chilly nights. This soup has a wonderful flavor and is easy to make. My only change was that I increased the amounts of vegetable stock, wine, and Worcestershire as the lentils soaked up a lot of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Excellent! I didn't have red wine, so left that out, but it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Great recipe. I didn't add the wine and I didn't miss it. I substituted an onion for the leek and though I'm sure it would have been even more flavorful with the leek it was fine as it was. The root vegetables gave it a delicious taste. I pureed half of the soup for a semi-chunky consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This is a fantastic base recipe to create many flavours off of. I used parsnips, potatoes, carrots, onions and green beans to create a hearty soup. I found that I needed to add lots of herbs and spices to really get flavour out of the broth. I definately recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I love lentils and this soup is delicious, my roomate wasn't as pleased though he thought that it should only be a 3, he must not love lentils. Oh, yea, I cooked the veggies down with a half stick a butter with the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This soup is delicious! I put more barley in, though as I like it, and aso added green onions. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I used what veggies I had on hand, which differed a bit from the recipe. I pureed about 1/2 of it and left 1/2 chunky. Very good. Perfect for a cold day. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States