Hearty Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Really enjoyed this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhappe
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
very, very good! We're not vegetarian, so I used chicken stock instead of vegetable broth. I chopped up all the veggies and then saute'd them in batches (all at once would crowd the pan) so they'd brown nicely before dumping them in the pot with lentils & liquids. I also added the green onions at the very end so they wouldn't loose all their flavor, and didn't use cilantro because we don't care for it much. Also added extra liquid- a splash more wine, at least a cup extra of broth... very, very good soup. Topped it off with fresh cracked pepper and shredded parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Orignally, I was going to give this four stars based on my first bowl. Even the second wasn't bad, but the thing started to become something other than soup, more like a stew. By the third bowl, it was a gloppy unappetizing mess. I guess the lentils absorbed all the water. There are better soups out there. I'll try those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
The recipe doesn't call for enough broth for the amount of lentils it tells you to use. I had to keep adding broth and water. but it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I thought overall it was pretty good. I made a few adjustments though. I couldn't find parsnip at my local grocery store, i had two medium potatos, no soy sauce, no red wine (b/c i forgot), but i added extra tobasco sause. This was not very soup-like, i think i was expecting it to be more watery. a great overall taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This soup was very good. I enjoyed its complex nature. The cilantro added a lovely pungency which cleared my sinuses (added bonus). ;) I used Columbia Winery Merlot for the wine. I also added crimini mushrooms towards the end and a cumin/curry powder combo as one reviewer suggested. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
awesome soup. i added 4 cups of vegetable stock instead of 3, salt, pepper, cumin, mustard seed, vinegar and tabasco. i also pureed about half of the recipe to make the soup thicker. amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was a good soup. We did not have all of the ingredients so substituted a little. I used chicken broth and added extra liquid as the other reviews suggested. I did not puree it and left is as a stew. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
The cilantro at the end adds the nicest flavor. A great soup that I plan to serve at my next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Bland and gloopy. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States