Hearty Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent! Really comes together at the end of cooking. Make sure not to overcook the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
GREAT lentil soup recipe! I took the advice of past reviews and added salt and lots of pepper, some granulated garlic and oregano just to get a bit more flavor into it. The leftovers are delicious too! Definitely making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsiekrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Add tomatoes AFTER the lentil are cooked, otherwise it is possible the lentils will not soften no matter how long you cook them for. Great hearty soup - and I agree, add more stock. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Oh. My. Gosh. This was so good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I left out the cilantro because I can't stand the stuff. Added frozen carrots and peas at the end of cooking, too. The flavor was just incredible! And so filling, too! :D I'll definitely be making more of this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This soup was warm and filling! The lentils had to be cooked an extra 15 minutes longer because they were not quite done in the time range it stated. Pepper.. I added a lot of black pepper and some salt. I think next time I'll add extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evenparabola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this soup but added a pound of cut up smoked sausage and there was nothing left of the batch. I will make this on a regular basis because it is easy and so good. All you need to add is rolls or biscuits for the perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is VERY good. My husband looked rather underwhelmed when I handed him his bowl, but he happily announced that it was not only good but better than it looked. (funny man!) The changes I made: olive oil, 2 carrots, no parsnip, 3 potatoes, not peeled, no worcestershire sauce, no wine, forgot the cilantro, and used fire-roasted tomatoes with garlic, added some pan-fried chicken and apple sausage and used chicken stock rather than vegie stock. Very good flavor - no need for salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwbrenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was delicious. I didn't have a parsnip or leak on hand. I substituted fresh parsley for cilantro because my husband hates cilantro. I also left out the wine and added an extra cup of vegetable broth like other reviewers suggested. I think this would be good any way you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Great taste. It's really more of a stew than a soup (and we added an extra cup of stock and extra water). In one bowl I added balsamic vinegar and in another added tabasco. Both were great. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Excellent. Don't skip the wine; it adds complexity to the flavor. Very good and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlisJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opheim, Montana, USA
Living In: Polson, Montana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States