Hearty Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
It was pretty good... only added a few herbs and cooked for longer than it called for - 45 minutes (used Mung beans) so might be the reason. Otherwise my partner and I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This really had great flavor! I made exactly as the recipe states, except I did not blend it either. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I just made this today! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This soup is great! I absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious even without the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this first as indicated in the posted recipe and thought it was good, but I didn't love it. I didn't care for the broth and thought the spices needed a little tweak. So I made it again, but this time, I sautéed one white onion (no leeks or green onion used), and then added 1/2 tsp of both cumin and coriander to the onion in the pan. I didn't use the red wine, but instead increased the chicken broth by an extra 1/2 cup to ensure the amount of liquid was the same as the original recipe. With these changes, I thought it was fantastic. Thanks for the kick start on this great vegetarian soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This soup is awesome! I also use it as a base for lentil shepherd's pie, just add less liquid. My family didn't believe there was no meat in it! I think when I make either of them I add more red wine than it calls for and I'm pretty liberal with seasoning. Definitely recommend trying this and adding your own spin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
So good. Added a bit more red wine, Worcestershire, and soy sauce. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfenese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was REALLY delicious. But, you absolutely need more broth, even if you like it chunky (which I do!). I had doubled the recipe and ended up adding 2-3 cups more of vegetable broth. Didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Due to the fact that I live in the middle of nowhere, I didn't use a parsnip, but didn't feel like it took away from the soup. Still absolutely delicuous, the worcestershire, red wine, and soy sauce really added that extra flavor that I am always looking for in my lentil soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States