Hearty Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Delicious!! Very hearty and filling. I doubled the recipe and ate leftovers all week because that's all I craved. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is wonderful soup just like we had in Scotland. I did not change one thing and my husband, a soup loving Scot , thought it was just great. Thankx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Volleyballmom
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I didn't have parsnip so was omitted. I doubled the recipe and had plenty leftovers. Prior to serving I added grated Parmesan. We always had it with parm as kids. I love it that way. Good recipe, I will make this again for sure! Thanks Judith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Behold a miracle! My children ate vegetables without even a murmur of a fuss or whine. In fact, they devoured it. I used a Merlot for the wine (a bit more then called for too) and I used fresh tomatoes that I diced myself. Thank you for this very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmd20ts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very tasty! The only change I made was to increase everything by about 1/2, and that way it made 8 cups of soup or 6 good servings. I'd say the original recipe would make closer to 4 servings. You could add another can of stewed, crushed, or diced tomatoes, and maybe a regular onion instead of or in addition to the green onions if you prefer, but definitely very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This soup was a big hit! Didn't have the leeks, potatoes or vegetable broth. Substituted with chicken broth and added chopped canadian bacon. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
One of my favorite lentil soup recipes. I like to add some canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Krasnodar, Krasnodar Krai , Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This soup is fantastic. It is as hearty as a beef stew, but veggie-friendly! I doubled the broth, otherwise it would be too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
i didnt have the leek or parsnip so i just used a carrot, celery, potato and the tomatoes. i also used chicken broth instead of veggie and marsala wine instead of red. great flavor. i actually prefer my lentil soup really thick! that way i can scoop it up with crackers! oh and add hot sauce on top.. MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My family loved this lentil soup. Great combinations of ingredients and natural flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States