Hearty Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love Lentil soup! This was a bit lacking in flavor for me, so I threw in some Curry, Cardamon pods and cayenne pepper. I also used Rotel tomatoes instead of just generic diced tomatoes which added a nice bit of flair. No need to be stingy on the veggies-the more the merrier :-) This was my first attempt at lentil soup and found this recipe more like good suggestions rather than instructions. But that is the fun of cooking isn't it? :-) Lentil stew will be a staple dinner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
liked it.Especially liked having potatoes and parsnips in the soup. Is a heavy hearty soup but very tasty. Good winter food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My family loved this lentil soup. Great combinations of ingredients and natural flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
i didnt have the leek or parsnip so i just used a carrot, celery, potato and the tomatoes. i also used chicken broth instead of veggie and marsala wine instead of red. great flavor. i actually prefer my lentil soup really thick! that way i can scoop it up with crackers! oh and add hot sauce on top.. MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I enjoy a thick soup and found this nice and hearty. I added an extra carrot and parsnip since I really like veggies, and an extra cup of water to account so it didn't thicken too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This soup is fantastic. It is as hearty as a beef stew, but veggie-friendly! I doubled the broth, otherwise it would be too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
One of my favorite lentil soup recipes. I like to add some canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Krasnodar, Krasnodar Krai , Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Good soup Judith. We're not vegetarians so I used a hamhock for flavor. I skipped the potato and needed to add a lot more liquid as it cooked. A little bit of finely sliced red onion for garnish made for a nice presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I left out the green onions, leek, & potato & substituted crushed tomatoes as I prefer a smoother tomato base. Next time, I'm going to add adding can of vegetable broth or some water as the soup gets pretty thick. You also may want to add salt & pepper, as desired, at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This soup was a big hit! Didn't have the leeks, potatoes or vegetable broth. Substituted with chicken broth and added chopped canadian bacon. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States