Hearty Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Winner winner, (not) chicken dinner. Ok, I cheated and put chicken sausage in and used chicken broth. Didn't have some things, had others. Used fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce, a bit heavy on the sauce and a bit lighter on the broth. I used less liquid so it was not so soup-like, which is what I wanted. I'm ready to dig in but had to share a rating after my initial tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This soup is very good and hearty. I accidentally used a 28oz can of tomatoes, but it was perfect. I also added a can of corn. I love that this recipe does not have any meat, and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Excellent blended into a purée. My kids wouldn't eat the veggies whole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This soup is pretty good but I would personally add some kind of me at for more flavor. Maybe sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Volleyballmom
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I didn't have parsnip so was omitted. I doubled the recipe and had plenty leftovers. Prior to serving I added grated Parmesan. We always had it with parm as kids. I love it that way. Good recipe, I will make this again for sure! Thanks Judith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
It's a good recipe, but if you are vegetarian be aware that Worcesteshire has anchovies in it. Tamarind is what gives Worcesteshire its "oomph," so use a tiny bit of tamarind and vinegar to get a hint of that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very tasty! The only change I made was to increase everything by about 1/2, and that way it made 8 cups of soup or 6 good servings. I'd say the original recipe would make closer to 4 servings. You could add another can of stewed, crushed, or diced tomatoes, and maybe a regular onion instead of or in addition to the green onions if you prefer, but definitely very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is wonderful soup just like we had in Scotland. I did not change one thing and my husband, a soup loving Scot , thought it was just great. Thankx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Behold a miracle! My children ate vegetables without even a murmur of a fuss or whine. In fact, they devoured it. I used a Merlot for the wine (a bit more then called for too) and I used fresh tomatoes that I diced myself. Thank you for this very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmd20ts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love Lentil soup! This was a bit lacking in flavor for me, so I threw in some Curry, Cardamon pods and cayenne pepper. I also used Rotel tomatoes instead of just generic diced tomatoes which added a nice bit of flair. No need to be stingy on the veggies-the more the merrier :-) This was my first attempt at lentil soup and found this recipe more like good suggestions rather than instructions. But that is the fun of cooking isn't it? :-) Lentil stew will be a staple dinner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States