Hearty Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
i didnt have the leek or parsnip so i just used a carrot, celery, potato and the tomatoes. i also used chicken broth instead of veggie and marsala wine instead of red. great flavor. i actually prefer my lentil soup really thick! that way i can scoop it up with crackers! oh and add hot sauce on top.. MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
It was very good and plentiful. I certainly ended up with more than 2-3 servings. Also, the lentils absorbed a lot of the liquid, making it more of a stew than a soup. Next time, I will use only 1/2 cup of lentils to see if that will make it more like soup. All in all, a good, cheap and hearty recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Delicious!! Very hearty and filling. I doubled the recipe and ate leftovers all week because that's all I craved. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Behold a miracle! My children ate vegetables without even a murmur of a fuss or whine. In fact, they devoured it. I used a Merlot for the wine (a bit more then called for too) and I used fresh tomatoes that I diced myself. Thank you for this very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmd20ts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I left out the green onions, leek, & potato & substituted crushed tomatoes as I prefer a smoother tomato base. Next time, I'm going to add adding can of vegetable broth or some water as the soup gets pretty thick. You also may want to add salt & pepper, as desired, at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very tasty! The only change I made was to increase everything by about 1/2, and that way it made 8 cups of soup or 6 good servings. I'd say the original recipe would make closer to 4 servings. You could add another can of stewed, crushed, or diced tomatoes, and maybe a regular onion instead of or in addition to the green onions if you prefer, but definitely very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
One of my favorite lentil soup recipes. I like to add some canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Krasnodar, Krasnodar Krai , Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This soup was a big hit! Didn't have the leeks, potatoes or vegetable broth. Substituted with chicken broth and added chopped canadian bacon. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This soup is fantastic. It is as hearty as a beef stew, but veggie-friendly! I doubled the broth, otherwise it would be too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Good soup Judith. We're not vegetarians so I used a hamhock for flavor. I skipped the potato and needed to add a lot more liquid as it cooked. A little bit of finely sliced red onion for garnish made for a nice presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States