Hearty Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Neither my husband or me cared or this. I'll be throwing the rest away, which says a lot considering I almost never waste food. I'm not sure if it was the red wine flavor or the lentils, or something else that went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Winner winner, (not) chicken dinner. Ok, I cheated and put chicken sausage in and used chicken broth. Didn't have some things, had others. Used fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce, a bit heavy on the sauce and a bit lighter on the broth. I used less liquid so it was not so soup-like, which is what I wanted. I'm ready to dig in but had to share a rating after my initial tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This soup is very good and hearty. I accidentally used a 28oz can of tomatoes, but it was perfect. I also added a can of corn. I love that this recipe does not have any meat, and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Excellent blended into a purée. My kids wouldn't eat the veggies whole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This soup is pretty good but I would personally add some kind of me at for more flavor. Maybe sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Volleyballmom
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I didn't have parsnip so was omitted. I doubled the recipe and had plenty leftovers. Prior to serving I added grated Parmesan. We always had it with parm as kids. I love it that way. Good recipe, I will make this again for sure! Thanks Judith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
It's a good recipe, but if you are vegetarian be aware that Worcesteshire has anchovies in it. Tamarind is what gives Worcesteshire its "oomph," so use a tiny bit of tamarind and vinegar to get a hint of that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very tasty! The only change I made was to increase everything by about 1/2, and that way it made 8 cups of soup or 6 good servings. I'd say the original recipe would make closer to 4 servings. You could add another can of stewed, crushed, or diced tomatoes, and maybe a regular onion instead of or in addition to the green onions if you prefer, but definitely very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is wonderful soup just like we had in Scotland. I did not change one thing and my husband, a soup loving Scot , thought it was just great. Thankx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Behold a miracle! My children ate vegetables without even a murmur of a fuss or whine. In fact, they devoured it. I used a Merlot for the wine (a bit more then called for too) and I used fresh tomatoes that I diced myself. Thank you for this very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmd20ts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States