Hearty Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
After 4.5 hours on low, the lentils were quite crunchy. I put enough for dinner in a large pot on the stove and boiled it for 30-40 minutes, while turning the crock pot to high. We had part of the stove top soup for dinner. It was edible but bland. That was when I realized I had forgotten to put all of the herbs, spices, salt, and pepper in it. I threw all leftovers back in the crock pot and let it continue to cook on high during the evening. I just tasted it and it is delicious. We have agreed to have it again for dinner tomorrow. The cooking time definitely needs to be adjusted, but the soup is hearty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly but substituted kielbasa for the sausage. I did simmer the lentils fro about 30 minutes in chicken broth before combining everything in the crock pot. It got rave reviews from everyone. I just had a bowl of leftover soup for lunch and it is even better the next day. Great recipe for a hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My crockpot was definitely too small also! But what a delicious recipe. Since I always have homemade chicken or vegetable broth I used that instead of water. I never even got to the cabbage at the end, even great without it. And indeed I fed the two of us; took a big batch to son and daughter in law (with new baby); and several servings to elderly neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was a great meal. I did incorporate many of the suggestions made by previous reviews, such as reducing the lentils by 1/2, omitting the water and use 2 32oz chicken broth, adding chill powder and balsamic vinegar. As well, I added the cabbage at the beginning and set the slow cooker on high for 7 hours. Everything was perfect and it had a really nice zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
After 7 hours in a large crock pot the lentils were still hard and I wasn't sure what kind of bulk sausage to use so I tried breakfast sausage. I think I should have used Italian sausage. It is sort of bland - tastes like it is missing something. I would not use as much garlic powder if I decide to make this again since after eating the soup all I can taste is garlic..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. I made it in my 7-quart crock pot, which was all the way full with the recipe exactly as it is written. I did cook it on high all day, and the lentils were nicely tender and fall-apart. All three of my kids (elementary and middle school) are wild about it. It is such a fantastic choice for our diabetic child too - plenty of fiber and protein to help him stay steady. We will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreasd56
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I actually ended up really liking this soup, but I made several changes: 1) Did not use any water. Instead, used two 32-oz boxes of chicken broth. 2) Used half of a 16 oz package of lentils 3) Used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes 4) Added 1 tbsp chili powder 5) Added 1 tsp garlic chili paste 5) Added 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar. Followed the rest of the recipe the same. Agree that there's no way the lentils will be done in 4 hrs. Next time I'll probably cook the lentils in a pot before adding to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
You have to use a large slow cooker for this recipe, not a crockpot. You also have to cook it on high, not low. It's an ALL DAY cook (10 hours or more), not a 4 hour cook. Another suggestion would be to soak the lentils overnight to speed up the cooking process. I added a bay leaf and substituted the can of diced tomatoes for a can of mild Rotel tomatoes with green chilies to kick it up a notch. I also changed the meat to pickled pork (or you could use cubed ham or diced salt pork), which you can just put right into the slow cooker and skip the first step. I used all broth rather than water for added flavor and I happened to have that much broth on hand. I also put the cabbage into the slow cooker right from the beginning or you can omit it altogether. With my changes, I'd give it a 5, but as is, it's only a 3 at best. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody aka Dumplin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe was great, however I did not use a crock pot. I followed the recipe exactly and my only substitution was that I used chicken sausage (& doubled the amount). It took about an hour on the stove in a large soup pot. Loved the soup! Only reason I didn't give it 5? was bc I didn't t use the crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Has been in the crockpot for over 4 1/2 hours and the lentils are still not done. Liquid is way too much for my crockpot, filled it right up to the top. Should have read other reviews before I made this soup, mistake on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States