Hearty Italian Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I love this,, made for a party and it was a big hit! Made according to the recipe exactly the first time, but it is good no matter how many peppers or onions are in it. The trick is to keep the sausage and hamburger ratio the same. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great filling dinner for hungry teens!! It is a little dry but I solved that by sauteing fresh garlic in some olive oil and adding it to the mix before putting on the hoagie rolls...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
subbed beans for part of the meat, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These were pretty good, however, for me, a little goes a long way. They seemed almost too rich for me, if that makes any sense. I was only able to eat a half sub (which was plenty) due to the richness. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Oh my goodness, this was so good I made it the again the very next day and froze it. The flavors of the peppers blended so well with the 2 different kinds of meats. You could serve this so many ways. I saw one reviewer said, her family ate it as is with no bread. Well, it is just that good. You can serve it with unlimited toppings and a marinara dip if you like. This recipe is as versatile as it is good. I didn't change a thing. (either time) :-) Enjoy All. Elaine, thank you so much for sharing this one. This one is a keeper. I can't wait to take it to the next pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was good - we used it in a whole wheat flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Super! I added a few mushrooms and ~9fo of beer (had to make sure the beer was good for consumption first;)). I reduced veggies to 1 instead of 2 and skipped out on adding the cheese. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
The whole family loved this. Seems a little odd at first but cooks down into perfect flavor and super easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These were pretty good. I would give it around a 3 star and my husband around a 5 star, so we are going middle ground with 4. The only reason I would give it 3, is because I'm not a huge fan of Italian sausage to being with. I made this with ground turkey and ground turkey hot Italian sausage and it wasn't greasy at all. I also added some marinara sauce to the sandwiches before serving and that was really good. Next time I make them, maybe I'll use more ground turkey and less sausage (just because of my personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
One of our favorite recipes! Easy to make and fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States