Hearty Italian Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe has great potential. I would not recommend it as written. I sure wish I could see Kristin's original recipe as she states in her review that recipe was 'overhauled' from her original version. I do believe where it calls for tomato sauce, it is supposed to be spaghetti (pasta) sauce - hence the lack of seasoning. I did use a quart of spaghetti sauce and the called for water, which unfortunately diluted the flavor, I ended up adding more Italian seasoning & some pepper flakes. (Instead of water broth would be better) This is really thick, even thicker re-heated the next day and very filling. (Lots of fiber) I am putting this recipe on the back burner and will play with it a bit more. It could be a great high protein, fairly low carb meal to have on hand. You could even omit the meatballs and make this a vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I just ground up the meat with garlic and seasonings as suggested and did everything else as the recipe said. To make it healthier, I used lean ground turkey and brown rice instead of white rice. Seasoned with garlic, a pinch of curry, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and it was delicious. After cooking for 30 min it was thick and perfect. Next time I will try quinoa instead of rice as I wanted to try the original recipe first. My 2 year old and 6 year old LOVED it! Mom and kid approved! Easy to alter with whatever you have on hand, and can even make vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Awesome soup! Tomato base makes it unlike other lentil soups and very hearty. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I used this recipe as a template and changed it up so that I could get rid of things that had been in my pantry for quite some time. I used two regular size jars of spaghetti sauce and a can of diced tomatoes that contained peppers and onions. Instead of putting only parsley in the meatballs, I split the measurement using half basil and half parsley and added garlic salt. It turned out great, and now I know what to do when I have lentils, rice,and ground beef on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esrodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Prepared per the recipe, without changes. This soup was only okay for my family. Not sure I will make this again, as it was time consuming forming the meatballs & preparing the lentils & rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Make those meatballs really small otherwise they take over the flavors as you eat the soup but I thought this recipe was so satisfying and appealing to all while you get your protein from the lentils! YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious! I made several changes - instead of making meatballs, took someone's advice and sauteed ground beef with one chopped onion and 2 garlic cloves. Also added spices from another lentil recipe - 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp basil, 1/4 tsp curry powder. I also used this and that for tomato sauce 1 8oz can tomato sauce, 1 6oz can tomato paste, 2 cups spaghetti sauce. This is the lentil soup recipe I've been trying to find for about 4 years - Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is so good and so easy. I will be making in often this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Made a couple of changes...added extra seasoning as someone else had suggested and a package of dry onion soup mix to the water and tomato sauce. Makes a lot! Pretty good...a nice, hearty soup that goes well with a crusty loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
4 stars as written, 5 stars with some adjustments I made. I didn't have to let the rice cook for 20 minutes because it would have burned. I also didn't have to drain the lentils, because after they simmered for 20 mins it was basically a mushy soup itself. I added a lot of dried basil, garlic salt, oregano and more parsley to both the meatballs and the soup itself. The soup was wonderful and hearty - but definitely needed the extra spices for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States