Hearty Italian Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe has great potential. I would not recommend it as written. I sure wish I could see Kristin's original recipe as she states in her review that recipe was 'overhauled' from her original version. I do believe where it calls for tomato sauce, it is supposed to be spaghetti (pasta) sauce - hence the lack of seasoning. I did use a quart of spaghetti sauce and the called for water, which unfortunately diluted the flavor, I ended up adding more Italian seasoning & some pepper flakes. (Instead of water broth would be better) This is really thick, even thicker re-heated the next day and very filling. (Lots of fiber) I am putting this recipe on the back burner and will play with it a bit more. It could be a great high protein, fairly low carb meal to have on hand. You could even omit the meatballs and make this a vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I just ground up the meat with garlic and seasonings as suggested and did everything else as the recipe said. To make it healthier, I used lean ground turkey and brown rice instead of white rice. Seasoned with garlic, a pinch of curry, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and it was delicious. After cooking for 30 min it was thick and perfect. Next time I will try quinoa instead of rice as I wanted to try the original recipe first. My 2 year old and 6 year old LOVED it! Mom and kid approved! Easy to alter with whatever you have on hand, and can even make vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Awesome soup! Tomato base makes it unlike other lentil soups and very hearty. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I used this recipe as a template and changed it up so that I could get rid of things that had been in my pantry for quite some time. I used two regular size jars of spaghetti sauce and a can of diced tomatoes that contained peppers and onions. Instead of putting only parsley in the meatballs, I split the measurement using half basil and half parsley and added garlic salt. It turned out great, and now I know what to do when I have lentils, rice,and ground beef on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esrodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Prepared per the recipe, without changes. This soup was only okay for my family. Not sure I will make this again, as it was time consuming forming the meatballs & preparing the lentils & rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Make those meatballs really small otherwise they take over the flavors as you eat the soup but I thought this recipe was so satisfying and appealing to all while you get your protein from the lentils! YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious! I made several changes - instead of making meatballs, took someone's advice and sauteed ground beef with one chopped onion and 2 garlic cloves. Also added spices from another lentil recipe - 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp basil, 1/4 tsp curry powder. I also used this and that for tomato sauce 1 8oz can tomato sauce, 1 6oz can tomato paste, 2 cups spaghetti sauce. This is the lentil soup recipe I've been trying to find for about 4 years - Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is so good and so easy. I will be making in often this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Made a couple of changes...added extra seasoning as someone else had suggested and a package of dry onion soup mix to the water and tomato sauce. Makes a lot! Pretty good...a nice, hearty soup that goes well with a crusty loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
4 stars as written, 5 stars with some adjustments I made. I didn't have to let the rice cook for 20 minutes because it would have burned. I also didn't have to drain the lentils, because after they simmered for 20 mins it was basically a mushy soup itself. I added a lot of dried basil, garlic salt, oregano and more parsley to both the meatballs and the soup itself. The soup was wonderful and hearty - but definitely needed the extra spices for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States