Hearty Hot or Cold Roasted Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
try shaving some good quality parm or romano cheese into the hot soup to help the consistency and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My "roasted" garlic was charcoal by the time it spent an hour in the oven, and I drastically cut the stock (used more like 2 cups, not 1 quart). Nice flavour, though, and a great way to use up tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is a great soup. I used less chicken broth when I blended it, and then boiled some pastina in the rest of the broth to add a little more texture. Stirred the two together and it was a winner! Next time I will add Israeli couscous instead of the pastina... Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I dont know what went wrong since I followed the directions exactly. I added several things to try to make it better. I finally threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipes was fantastic! I did use less broth, as recommended but other than that I followed it exactly. It was so fresh and creamy...it went perfectly with my baked grilled cheese (also from this site). I might have to start growing my own tomatoes just so that I have an excuse to keep this around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of tomato soup but this was good. I removed the skins, and used an immersion stick to blend the tomatoes with a couple of cups of the stock. I then added the stock a little at a time until it was the right consistency for us. As always, I used white balsamic vinegar. Nice recipe, Rosa. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this soup as directed and it turned out way too thin. I put it in the fridge and roasted another pan of tomatoes the next night, pureed and added them to the thin soup. That helped a bit but it was still a little too thin for me. The taste was great so I will make this again, however I will add the stock a little bit at a time until it reaches desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a good soup. I didn't blend it thoroughly for a chunkier result. I also added in 1/2 cup velveeta for a creamy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I love planting, growing, harvesting and cooking tomatoes...I'm not such a big fan of eating them unless they are perfectly ripe or as spaghetti sauce. I made this strictly because I had bowls of tomatoes - mostly cherry and grape - that needed to be used NOW, and they were just beyond the stage that I would eat them raw. So, I roasted about 5 Roma and two medium beefsteak, cut in wedges, and maybe a pint and a half each of cherry and grape, leaving them whole. Doubled the garlic and when it came time to add broth, just used a cup or so of vegetable stock. I could not believe how delicious this soup is! And despite the fact that I added no cream or milk, it actually looked creamy! I didn't mind the skins, as others had mentioned, as the food processor mulched them up pretty good, but it does have lots of seeds that, unless you're in the mood for a real rustic soup, you may want to strain them out before adding the basil. Tough call though, because if you strain the seeds, you're straining the tomato pulp and pieces of garlic, so I just chose to live with it. Delicious and healthy, and now no garden tomatoes will ever go to waste in my house - Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Absolute great taste, only used half the stock as the soup seemed to be getting a bit too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States