Hearty Hot or Cold Roasted Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I loved the tomato taste, but my family likes more neutral tastes, so I cooked and pureed a large white eggplant. I had 4 pounds of tomatoes to the large eggplant. I also followed the suggestion for 2 cups of broth. Can't wait for a cool day and a hot loaf of bread. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was a nice soup. I used veg broth and cut back to 1 cup per the other reviews. I would prefer a creamier soup but if I have to save on calories this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This recipe did not work for me at all. I went to the farmers' market and had two pounds of Romas measured out for me, but after following the directions to the letter, I found that the soup was much too thin after I'd added only one 14-ounce can of chicken broth. If I'd added a quart, the "soup" would have been tomato-flavored water. So I did not get four servings out of this. The flavor was good--how can you not love toasted tomatoes???--so I'm going to use three pounds of tomatoes next time and one 14-ounce can of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I joined just so I could post this review. This soup is phenomenal. I added only a small amount of stock -- I wanted the soup a little thicker -- and did everything else exactly. OMG I am going to make this soup every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Loved it, it was simple, I used more garlic cloves (about 6), and I also added evaporated milk to add creaminess to the soup, I think if I would have used chicken stock, instead of chicken broth I may not have needed to add as much though. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOLISA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
roasted a whole head of garlic- so it wouldn't get too dried out. used a few cherry tomatoes. added just a touch of cream to thicken. awesome! used more basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Easy to make but too intense. The garlic was charcoal at the end of an hour, so next time I will just put it in or 30 minutes or so. I will probably try to soften the intensity with a nut roux or some milk next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I had a lot of tomatoes from the garden that I needed to use up, so I tried this recipe. It was good, but not amazing. I added a little cream to the soup and had to add some tomato paste because without it the soup was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
We had this cold for dinner one night. It was a terrific, summery soup that my family enjoyed, and would probably be better hot. Instead of chicken stock, we used water, and three more cloves of garlic. We used very little water and it was thick and tasty. We had a good dinner that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States