Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
What a great Fall dish! Potatoes definitely need to be cut large. I wanted to speed up cooking time so I cut the potatoes a bit smaller and ended up with mashed potato stew BUT the flavor was still fantastic. Love that caraway kick. A definite keeper, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My husband loved this, and I was surprised at how flavorful it was without broth. The cabbage and spices really make it nice with the ham. I did not add greens the first time but am adding some to the batch I'm making now. I agree with one reviewer though, you need MUCH more than just 1 cup of water...I just add enough to make sure it's all covered. A keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Heinos
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophie D.
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Was looking for a way to use beet greens. Great recipe! Awesome taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I had really high hopes for this recipe, but it isn't as good as I thought it would be. First off, it needs way more than 1 cup of water to simmer everything and not burn it. That's ok, but there was almost NO flavor, despite only using enough water to barely cover everything. I had to add a lot of extra seasonings to get any taste to this. Oh well. It was worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
used turkey ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is really delicious. All those healthy vegetables and a perfect spice combination result in a very satisfying stew that tastes even better the next day. I probably shouldn't have used red cabbage, however, because the entire meal turned an unappetizing shade of purple! My mistake. It's what I had in the fridge, but I'll stick with green cabbage next time : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I loved this stew because the caraway seeds gave it a unique flavor. Definitely not the same old thing. The veggies were nice and soft for my infant to eat. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made no substitutions. Everyone had seconds and it really sticks to the ribs--thanks for a great way to use up holiday ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We thought it was going to be bland, turned out we wrong. It is not spicy, but, very, very tasty. We really enjoyed it. Serve with a Rye bread for a filling meal. The ham I used was Black Forest-organic. The ham is a big part of this dish. Get the best quality ham you can, you won't regret it. The salt I added was 1/2 tsp. and ground up a bunch of black pepper. It wasn't salty, which I thought it was going to be. All around great recipe-Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Used slightly different ingredients, but still great results. My husband looked at me when he was finished and said "Did you say this has cabbage in it?" Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci McLain Wendland
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States