Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great hearty stew for a fall night! We loved the flavor but made some modifications - my husband braised three ham hocks in the pan before we started the recipe, we doubled the spices, and we used about 4 cups of water. It turned out fantastastic! Next time we will double the carrots. Mmm, mmm, mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
First off -- like other reviewers, I added more liquid (1 cup chicken stock + 3 cups water.) Other than that, I kept the rest of the ingredients the same. The flavor reminded me of a New England Boiled Dinner. Simple yet delicious flavors, and very healthy. Thanks so much for posting this recipe -- it is already a favorite when served with whole grain french bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very flavorful. The ham, cabbage and caraway reminded me of a corned beef flavor. My husband admitted it wasn't appealing to look at. Maybe it would be more appealing if the cabbage and onions were chopped into larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe! I recommend using at least 3 cups of liquid; I used low sodium chicken broth. The whole family enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was really good and filling. I didn't have cabbage so I used navy beans. I didn't have red onion just used yellow and left out the caraway seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
definately needs 2-3 cups of water. good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was very good, I subbed cooked ground sausage for the ham and at the very end I added a couple of handfuls of cherry tomatoes,some fresh basil, and a can of kidney beans undrained. this added a nice bit of color and flavor. We absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe! I first tried this because I needed to find ways to finish off the Christmas ham. I made this for some picky eaters and very good and experienced cooks and they all loved it. It was a very easy dish to make. I have made this several times using just a ham steak cut into small squares. I chose the spinach for the packed greens and the only thing I did different was I used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of 1 cup of water. This is a dish that everyone should give a try. You will not be disappointed. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Fixed this for my buddies on a camping trip; came out very sweet and the spinach was not a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I used maple cured ham steak, and the stew turned out with a slight sweet taste which was delightful. I was skeptical about the cabbage AND spinach, but it cooked down, thankfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States