Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent stew, very filling and flavorful. I was worried that it would be bland and considered adding chicken broth, but it wasn't needed. The spices were perfect. I used half potatoes and half sweet potatoes, and added a can of white cannellini beans. I also used white onions and bok choy instead of cabbage. Next time I will double the recipe as it only made enough for one meal for my family. I served it with sourdough bread and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I tweeked this recipe alittle b/c I didn't have the additional greens. I just added additional cabbage. Celery salt is a good trade-off depending on how salty the ham is already. I was unsure about the carrots and potatoes cooking thoroughly, so I added about 10 more minutes esp. w/ the extra cabbage. Overall a great dish and will cook again w/ the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made this tonight with some leftover ham I found in the freezer. Used yellow onion, garlic, leftover ham, purple cabbage, potato, sweet potato, carrots, celery, swiss chard (no spinach). I didn't have caraway so I left it out. It did need 2 cups of water. It was delicious and hearty. Not the best looking meal, but SO tasty! A good adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great hearty stew for a fall night! We loved the flavor but made some modifications - my husband braised three ham hocks in the pan before we started the recipe, we doubled the spices, and we used about 4 cups of water. It turned out fantastastic! Next time we will double the carrots. Mmm, mmm, mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
First off -- like other reviewers, I added more liquid (1 cup chicken stock + 3 cups water.) Other than that, I kept the rest of the ingredients the same. The flavor reminded me of a New England Boiled Dinner. Simple yet delicious flavors, and very healthy. Thanks so much for posting this recipe -- it is already a favorite when served with whole grain french bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very flavorful. The ham, cabbage and caraway reminded me of a corned beef flavor. My husband admitted it wasn't appealing to look at. Maybe it would be more appealing if the cabbage and onions were chopped into larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe! I recommend using at least 3 cups of liquid; I used low sodium chicken broth. The whole family enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was really good and filling. I didn't have cabbage so I used navy beans. I didn't have red onion just used yellow and left out the caraway seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
definately needs 2-3 cups of water. good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was very good, I subbed cooked ground sausage for the ham and at the very end I added a couple of handfuls of cherry tomatoes,some fresh basil, and a can of kidney beans undrained. this added a nice bit of color and flavor. We absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States