Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
When finished cooking, there isn't much broth, but the taste was still excellent. It could be eaten with a fork. Both my husband and I liked it, and it was so healthy all in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We added a couple cans of chicken broth because it looked like it needed some. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I love these kinds of dinners. Not too much fuss and something everyone (in "my" family) can agree on. I love adding (hiding, rather) different vegetables when I make things like this. It's a great springboard to whatever your family prefers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Excellent! We used about half as much ham because that's all we had. What an excellent dinner for a lazy spring afternoon! Very healthy, low calorie and full of flavor, what more can you ask? Also, I had everything on hand that was called for, so no problem. Used smoked sweet paprika and Swiss Chard greens for the green. I did have to add a little more water along the way, but that's no major disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
really good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm sorry, this wasn't for me. I just didn't care for the spices in it. I also didn't have a liquid problem. Cabbage creates water. I chopped the carrots, literally. One of the photos I looked at, the pieces were very large. I subbed zuc for the green bc I didn't have any but other than that, followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToybobMama11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My husband and I really liked this soup! After reading reviews, I added 2 additional cups of chicken broth to make it more soupy and also tripled the seasonings due to the extra broth. Tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Kutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great base recipe. Like others, added more liquid (used low sodium chicken broth). After sauteing the onion and garlic, just threw everything into the pot (except spinach) and let it simmer. I think the caraway seed makes it! Added a bit of grated nutmeg with the spinach and a squirt of siracha for a little more color and spice. Smells and tastes wonderful! Will chunk up and freeze some of the leftover holiday ham to make this soup again! Comes together easily, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
i substituted the cabbage with escarole and used white wine instead of water. didn't use the caraway, and it cooked really well and tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Used sauerkraut instead of cabbage and cumin instead of caraway seed and still turned out delicious. I also omitted the greens. Hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States