Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
really good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm sorry, this wasn't for me. I just didn't care for the spices in it. I also didn't have a liquid problem. Cabbage creates water. I chopped the carrots, literally. One of the photos I looked at, the pieces were very large. I subbed zuc for the green bc I didn't have any but other than that, followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToybobMama11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My husband and I really liked this soup! After reading reviews, I added 2 additional cups of chicken broth to make it more soupy and also tripled the seasonings due to the extra broth. Tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great base recipe. Like others, added more liquid (used low sodium chicken broth). After sauteing the onion and garlic, just threw everything into the pot (except spinach) and let it simmer. I think the caraway seed makes it! Added a bit of grated nutmeg with the spinach and a squirt of siracha for a little more color and spice. Smells and tastes wonderful! Will chunk up and freeze some of the leftover holiday ham to make this soup again! Comes together easily, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
i substituted the cabbage with escarole and used white wine instead of water. didn't use the caraway, and it cooked really well and tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Used sauerkraut instead of cabbage and cumin instead of caraway seed and still turned out delicious. I also omitted the greens. Hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent stew, very filling and flavorful. I was worried that it would be bland and considered adding chicken broth, but it wasn't needed. The spices were perfect. I used half potatoes and half sweet potatoes, and added a can of white cannellini beans. I also used white onions and bok choy instead of cabbage. Next time I will double the recipe as it only made enough for one meal for my family. I served it with sourdough bread and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I tweeked this recipe alittle b/c I didn't have the additional greens. I just added additional cabbage. Celery salt is a good trade-off depending on how salty the ham is already. I was unsure about the carrots and potatoes cooking thoroughly, so I added about 10 more minutes esp. w/ the extra cabbage. Overall a great dish and will cook again w/ the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made this tonight with some leftover ham I found in the freezer. Used yellow onion, garlic, leftover ham, purple cabbage, potato, sweet potato, carrots, celery, swiss chard (no spinach). I didn't have caraway so I left it out. It did need 2 cups of water. It was delicious and hearty. Not the best looking meal, but SO tasty! A good adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great hearty stew for a fall night! We loved the flavor but made some modifications - my husband braised three ham hocks in the pan before we started the recipe, we doubled the spices, and we used about 4 cups of water. It turned out fantastastic! Next time we will double the carrots. Mmm, mmm, mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States