Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
overall a really good soup with added flavoring indeed it needed some garlic powder and onion powder and extra minced garlic some pepper i didn't use thyme instead i did a bay leaf and basil it was yummy and i upped the tomato soup to 2 cans and used fresh roma tomatoes cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This soup is pretty good. Major benefit is that it is VERY filling with the beef and the barley. When I ate it for lunch (sans anything else), it would keep me full way past dinnertime. I used a small can of tomato paste rater than the condensed tomato soup, which has too many artificial ingredients for my taste. Also, I used 1 lb of ground beef and that was a good ratio against the 1/2 cup barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
very yummy soup..... :) A MUST TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good. Needs a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I was looking for a tasteful, not too citric (v8), beef barley veggie soup. I have tried several recipes and this one is at the top of the list. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I thought this hamburger soup was very good. Simple to throw together for an easy dinner with salad and bread. I put this in the crock pot on high for about 5 hrs. I added some cumin, red pepper flakes and 4 beef boulion cubes because like some other reviewers said it was a bit bland. I also added more barley than the recipe called for so I added a little more beef stock. During the last couple hours of cooking I decided to throw in some frozen corn. Adding some extra spices gives it a nice flavor and the extra barley makes it a thick stew-soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have made this soup three times in the last month now; I am addicted to it! I have made a couple of changes to it, however. I also add 1 lb. of mild sausage (like Bob Evans), I use rice instead of barley (because that's what I have), increase the water a little and add two cans of tomato soup. My family loves this meal; I can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
meh. definitely bland. not exciting at all. ill just stick with vegetable beef stew in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Didn't have barley so added half cup of rice. Pretty tasty on crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This soup was more like a chilli and very bland but for the ingredients it was good. I ended up adding basil, more barley like other reviews suggested and instead of tomatoe soup I used tomatoe paste. My 2 year old daughter loves it so in my eyes it was a success. I gave this a 3 star just because it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States