Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
YUMMY! I made this on Sunday and ate it everyday for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyJoLo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Made this soup last night for dinner along with some home made bread and it was very good. I didn't have the condensed soup (not a big fan of the condensed soup taste in my food) so I added an extra cup of water and most of a small can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is an excellent soup! I added worschestire sauce for extra flavour and a dash of red wine. Also substituted parsley and thyme for itlian seasoning. Will be making this soup again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was a very good starter recipe. Unfortunately, I had assumed I had all the ingredients and realized I didn't as I was already committed. My substitutions, though, were very good! Instead of carrots and celery, I used a 16 oz. frozen bag of peas and carrots. I increased the barley to 3/4 cup. For the beef broth, I used 4 cups of water + 5 beef bouillon cubes. I was out of tomato soup, yet a can of plain tomato sauce did the trick. I eliminated the bay leaf, parsley, and time. Instead, I added garlic salt and basil. When browning the ground beef, I added the onion (chunked) and minced, fresh garlic. Finally, I used my crock pot - an hour on high and then at least an hour or so on low. Everyone - even my finicky youngest - loved the results! This is a great recipe for a cold, dreary winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I was surprised that it completely filled my dutch oven pot, but I was able to get the lid on. I liked all of the different vegetables this had in it. I realized after I started making the recipe that I didn't have barley, so I subbed an equal amount of uncooked rice. When it was done I added some garlic and onion powder to taste. It was a hearty soup, as suggested. I ate it with some buttered flavored crackers. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this soup in the crock pot. I used mushrooms, carrots, celery, onion and green beans. I browned the beef first of all before putting all the ingredients into the crock pot on low for 8 hours. Unfortunately even after that time the vegetables were still hard, nice time I may partially cook the vegetables first of cook. I left this cooking overnight and we had it for lunch the next day. The actual taste was a little on the bland side, good thick soup but just needs a little something else to kick it up a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
After reading such awesome reviews, I expected more than the bland soup that I ended up with. In the end, I added a lot of chili powder to give it a little flavor. I hoped my 9 year old would eat this, but there were too many tomatoes for her to have any interest. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I added a few things like the others. I had 1/2 a fennel bulb so chopped it and added it with the veggies. I too added potato and 2 grated zucchini. For spices I added basil and oregano. It was yummy!!! The kids sprinkled it with freshly grated parm. And we served crusty rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Just made this soup, looked on line for something to do with my hamburger, and it tastes great!! Good deep flavor! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Made with ground turkey and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States