Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Really cold here today so I was looking for a soup to make for dinner and wanted to use hamburger. This one fit the bill! I only had 1 lb of hamburger, the bottom of a box of barley which probably was only about 1/4 cup, used no water, one quart jar of home canned tomatoes, 1 can of beef broth (10 oz) and added a bit of Montreal steak seasoning. This is warm, hearty and filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good!! I didn't have thyme so I used basil instead. I also added some minced garlic in with the veggies. This will become a regular in our dinner rotation! It was thick, hearty, filling and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great Soup, thanks for the recipe. Only changes I made was to add a little red wine to the soup and some frozen corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDM1995

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was delicious! Made it as written. My husband, who is not a fan of anything with ground beef (unless it is in the form of a burger :) loved it. The kids gobbled it up, too. This may seem obvious to some, but I'll say it since I'm not an expert and hope it helps others: taste your soup!!! Some broths and canned tomatoes have more salt than others, and depending on which brand I have found that I either needed to add some salt or add none at all. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I really did enjoy this soup. I did add cabbage and a potato. I will skip the tomatoes next time, though, in favor of some tomato juice. The changes were based solely because I wanted them (I had cabbage and potatoes on hand), not because this recipe needed any help. It was a nice thick and hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ordway, Colorado, USA
Living In: Emporia, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Not a bad recipe but it has too little seasoning for my taste. It definitely needs more seasoning as written. I'm also gluten-intolerant so make appropriate changes to take the gluten out: replace the tomato soup with tomato sauce and use potato instead of barley. Also of course, I use gluten-free broth. Other than that I double the seasonings except bay leaf and use all broth rather than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
What is so great about this soup is how easy it is to make and how great it tastes! I fried up the hamburger, drained it, and tossed it in the slow cooker with all the other ingredients on low for about 8 hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
took the time to make burger into meatballs (w/ egg & breadcrumbs) v. good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My entire family young and old loved this soup, its so tasty, it tasted like it simmered all day, there was no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a new fall favorite!! I add more carrots & celery than it asks for & use 2 pounds of hamburger to feed the hungry guys in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States