Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Hmmmm, whats in the pantry?? LOL, I had crushed tomato instead of diced and didnt have any tomato soup or beef stock soooooo: Crushed tomato, water and beef bullion (that's beef broth, more or less)and omit the soup. Added a green pepper because I had one and used a bit more 'burger than the recipe called for. This came out really good, even the picky eaters noshed down on it. Served it with grated parm cheese and hot pepper flakes on the side with some nice home made garlic bread. I think if I omit the barley and used macaroni elbows it would be exactly like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
this is a very hearty and yummy soup one of my family favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made this before I became a vegetarian (for health reasons) and loved it then! Modified it vegetarian with vegetarian beef broth and MorningStar Crumbles and it tastes the same!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. Very easy to put together and very, very tasty. Since we are lovers of barley we doubled the amount. We were also out of beef broth so I substituted Au Jus. Worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is my "go to" recipe when I want homemade soup. I've made this as written and also with my own variations with what I had on hand and it's always good. My favorite variation is to add a diced green pepper, rice and an extra can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MADDIEJON
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe! Made for the most part as written. Added extra barley and more beef broth instead of water. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Excellent soup. I also browned the onion and added worshisire sauce and tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This hit the spot on a cold downpour night! I added a some mushrooms and a little siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda-Marie Purkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very simple but comforting meal. I didn't have barley, so did without. I added extra seasonings for flavor as recommended by other reviews. Before serving, I added steamed brown rice into each bowl. Tasted better the next day. Next time I will make corn bread to include with our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
excellent soup better with cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States