Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Outstanding; I used ground elk instead of beef, beef broth instead of water and home canned tomatoes. This will be a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty closely with only a few minor changes. I used just 1 lb. of ground beef, a full cup of barley and instead of water and beef broth, I used three 14.5 oz. cans of beef broth. This produced a very chunky, hearty soup, just as the title suggests. For me this yielded about 13 cups of soup. But even after letting the flavors meld in the fridge until the next day, it didn’t wow me. Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this tonight and followed the recipe just as it is! My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very good. We were surprised at how good this is. Chopped veggies in chunks as we like chunky soup. Also cooked for less time to keep veggies chrunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I love this recipe. I made a couple of changes. I added more veggies and barley and garlic. I can't eat condensed tomato soup (too much sodium), so I added tomato sauce instead. Company put a bit of fresh grated parmesan on top... thanks for sharing. DEFINATELY A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
We loved this soup! I agree with others who said to make the vegetables "chunky" and to add a few more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I pretty much followed this recipe as is but did not have the tomato soup on hand. I added some other vegetables I had that needed to be used (some leftover corn and a small zucchini I chopped) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Started out as a way to use up some leftover ground beef, ended up loving the soup! I added swiss chard for some color/greens as well as using homemade beef stock (5-6 cups) and no water. Definitely a cold weather staple in our home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very good! This can be adjusted a number of different ways. Only used 1 lb hamburger, low sodium beef broth, added more water and eliminated the tomato soup. Added a few potatoes and some sliced mushroom and frozen corn (needed to be used up). Used quick cook barley, so this was done in under 2 hours. There is some chopping involved, but the time is well worth it! Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
made in crockpot as other reviewer mentioned and this was delish! even my picky 15 month old liked it (pureed). will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States