Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
One of the tastiest hamburger soups that I have tried! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe and it turned out wonderful but my wife, who is gluten intolerant, could not eat it. I made it again substituting a wild rice/brown rice mix for the barley and it was great! It is now my goto soup on those cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Awesomee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
very hearty and filling. Allow a good amount of time for prep work. All ingredients compliment each other, will definitely make again. A family hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahs
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved this recipe. Took the suggestions and added some potatoes. Yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My family and i love this soup, always goes fast. Only thing I do different is cook the onion and garlic with the beef in the beginning. Amazing. I have been making 1-2times a month for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Love this recipe! I make it all the time. I use beef consommé instead of broth. I like lots of veggies and mix it up occasionally by adding frozen green beans, corn and lima beans! Goes great with a grilled cheese sandwich. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Hmmmm, whats in the pantry?? LOL, I had crushed tomato instead of diced and didnt have any tomato soup or beef stock soooooo: Crushed tomato, water and beef bullion (that's beef broth, more or less)and omit the soup. Added a green pepper because I had one and used a bit more 'burger than the recipe called for. This came out really good, even the picky eaters noshed down on it. Served it with grated parm cheese and hot pepper flakes on the side with some nice home made garlic bread. I think if I omit the barley and used macaroni elbows it would be exactly like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
this is a very hearty and yummy soup one of my family favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made this before I became a vegetarian (for health reasons) and loved it then! Modified it vegetarian with vegetarian beef broth and MorningStar Crumbles and it tastes the same!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. Very easy to put together and very, very tasty. Since we are lovers of barley we doubled the amount. We were also out of beef broth so I substituted Au Jus. Worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States